Live Deliberately

Image

My most recent blog post was about how stoked I was to read the novella pictured above. I posted that, what, a day or two ago? I’m writing now to let anyone and everyone know that I read it within a span of a hour, cover-to-cover. Lemme just say, it was inspiring and empowering. I wholeheartedly suggest anyone looking for a bit of a pick-me-up in their life or an encouraging story to relate to, to go out and get this book. It was so easy to read and so relatable, I just loved it. I just wanted to discuss three of the main points this book taught me and my reactions to those points. I hope you’ll get the chance to read it and gain your own reactions, but for now, I hope some of the things I learned will suffice. ūüôā

Point One: “If you really want to do something, no one can stop you; but if you really don’t want to do something, no one can help you.”

I just love this quote/idea. I love how it is phrased and I love what it means. It is written as a simple fact, but it is so powerful! The first part is something I really personally needed to hear. If you really want to do something, no one can stop you. It is almost like someone is giving you permission to go after what you want, what you dream about. It is simply saying that no one can stop you for going after what you want. Now, it’s not saying people won’t try. Mr. Owen talked about how people would tell him what he was going after wasn’t possible, to stop trying, to give up. So you have to realize that yes, people may doubt you; yes, people may question you; yes, people may laugh at you; but no, those people cannot stop you. Only you can do that. And that is a humbling and amazing¬†realization.¬†The second part — “but if you really don’t want to do something, no one can help you” — is an idea I haven’t given much thought to. It makes you think retrospectively. Yeah, of course no one will/can help you take out the trash if you don’t want to, because then you’re prolly not going to do it anyway. I think the statement is saying that if you really want to do something, then you must remember that there are people who could be there to help you. It is something that I always forget — that help is there and available, if only you ask for it.

2. “Live deliberately. Decide: are you the kind of person things happen to, or the kind of person who makes things happen?”

Again, I love this. Throughout the entire book, I thought Mr. Owen was writing directly at me, calling me out, asking me, “Nicole, which type of person are you? What type of person do your actions make you? Now, do those two people match?” The first question I would answer as the type of person who makes things happen; yet when I think about my actions, in respect to my dream, I find myself waiting for things to happen to me. You see, my dream is to be a published author. I want to write fantasy fiction novels, with a tad bit of romance thrown in. I want to write books people can lose themselves within, use as a method to escape reality into a world and a story that by the end of the book, they believe in. I want to write books that teach people something, inspires someone, helps someone. And I’ve had¬†ideas. When I was twelve, I wrote my first series of¬†short stories,¬†featuring flying pigs, skeletons with daggers and glowing red eyes, and my entire third grade class. When I was in 8th grade, I tried to start a novel and got 80 Word Documents completed before I gave up, thinking it to be not good enough. For the past few years, I’ve had a story that I have come to believe,¬†come to¬†love, fostering in the depths of my soul, waiting for me to put pen to paper, fingertips to keys; waiting for me to bring it to life. Yet I’ve been waiting for something to happen to me, as a signal or a sign to begin being the person I’ve always claimed to be: a writer. Instead, I need to sit down and make myself what I know God made me to be: a writer.

3. “Never, ever, sacrifice what you want the most, for what you want the most at that moment.”

I think this is such a great idea to live a life by, because it can apply to so many different areas or aspects of your life. For example: you want to lose ten pounds in the long-run, but all your friends are going out for ice cream. What you want most is to lose the ten pounds, but will appeasing your desire for ice cream at that moment really push you towards that goal? Not really. Mr. Owen is just pointing out how you always gotta keep the big picture in mind, even when it is difficult and especially when it deals with sacrificing something at one moment in order to gain something better in the long run. I think this is an idea worth remembering.

“Every drawing, every life, is nothing but a series of choices and actions. The lines I made as a child are the same as those I make as an adult —¬†because it’s the same mind making the choices. Make your lines. Make your choices. It’s always entirely in your hands.”

Cheers,

Nicole

About Nicole Evans

Nicole Evans is a writer of fantasy and science fiction. She is currently unpublished and is working fervently to get the ‚Äúun‚ÄĚ removed from that statement. She has five completed manuscripts: a trilogy about destined heroes that fail anyway, a science fiction standalone that pits the natural desire to love against the natural instinct to kill during the extinction of the human race and a new series about a writer who can't get published and gets the chance to live a life that all writers dream. She also has two scripts done. Currently, she is about to start writing the second of a nine book series while planning two more. (If you can tell, she really likes this whole writing thing.) Considering she has run out of space for putting rejections letters up on her wall, Nicole now uses her spare time doing the typical things that nerds do: blogging, dying repeatedly during video games (which she believes is retribution for the characters‚Äô she‚Äôs killed), wishing she was the character she is currently reading about and trying to fight off the real world by living in her own head, with varying degrees of success. Nicole has a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Film and Media Studies, and works part-time as a supervisor in a library at the University of Kansas. View all posts by Nicole Evans

Leave questions, comments or angry remarks below...

