Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving.

A day of food. Lots and lots of deliciously fattening food, just the way food should be. A day of family. Both those you love and pretend to love, and those who don’t even get that fake courtesy. A day of friends. A day of football watching, constant feasting, pants ripping and buttons exploding, leaves falling and family gathering. A day off of work and school (three cheers for that!). A day created in thanks for food in the midst of starvation, meant to remind us to be thankful for what we are blessed with. A day of thanks.

Thanksgiving.

The next major holiday after Halloween and the last major holiday before Christmas. It is often overlooked by those over-eager souls desperate for the time to arrive where they can begin singing carols and stuffing their faces with cookies without receiving looks of disdain. And I’ll admit, I’ve not innocent of jumping straight from my birthday, which falls a few days after Halloween, straight into the spirit of Christmas. And while the turkeys are prolly grateful for my negligence towards this holiday, this year I wanted to actually take a second and pause and actually think and meditate about what I am truly thankful for in my life.

So of course I decided to blog ’bout it, to list a few things that I am truly thankful for and blessed to have, for I surely could never list it all. But who knows, maybe it will trigger your mind to ponder upon your ownblessings while you delight in the sweet potatoes you only get once a year.

I am thankful for my family. We’re not perfect, we’re quirky and we’re weird, but we are built upon love and trust and hilarity, and I wouldn’t have it any other way. I often forget how lucky I am to be blessed with parents who have always loved each other and actually still do; who are going to celebrate their 20th wedding anniversary in May; who love me and my siblings more than themselves or each other; who are great examples that I can look up to in every aspect of my life. I’m grateful for my two hilarious siblings, who have been a joy to grow up with and have taught me what it means to care more about the success of someone else’s future more than your own. And I’m grateful for my dog, who never ceases to provide entertainment and is a great listener.

I have the greatest friends a person could ever ask for. Just thinking about them makes me jealous for those who don’t get the chance to know them the way I have. I honestly wouldn’t be the person I am today and where I am today without such a strong, core group of people who love me and push me to always be better. I only hope I can be as great as friend to them as they are to me, and that they realize how much I truly cherish each of their friendships and how much I truly love them. You know who you are: thank you so much for blessing me.

I am thankful for my job, which has taught me so much and helped me grow so much. It has helped me appreciate an uninterrupted night’s sleep so much more. Plus, it has driven me to people who I have formed great relationships with and am so thankful to know, because I seriously have the coolest coworkers of any job imaginable.

I am thankful for my escapes from reality: music, reading and most importantly, writing. I live a great life full of blessings and opportunities, but knowing that I am able to escape from the difficulties and harshness that sometimes comes with that life is such a comfort, because not everyone can escape the way I can: through the steady rhythm of the guitar, the drop of the bass, the deep-throated screams of the singer at any screamo venue; into the pages of a book, where I can become anyone, do anything and experience everything; by writing my way out of reality and into the minds and lives of those born from my heart in the first place, hopefully one day creating an escape for someone else. Without these things, I would not remain sane.

Most importantly, I am thankful for my God. This life and my path is created through Him, who has blessed me with more than I deserve and given me the strength to get through more than I ever thought possible. His grace gives me hope when I am lost in the darkness and it is His Word that provides guidance through life and sets my path before me; His vision that has created me. Despite my numerous shortcomings, I am so thankful to be a daughter of Christ and hope that throughout my life, I can make my Father proud.

Those are just some of the things that I am thankful for, but the list could go on and on. And if you put a different spin on things, then you could expand your list even more. Many people are thankful for their health, as well as the health of their family and friends, as I am. But you could also be thankful for your sickness, because it reminds you what it is like to be healthy and that you have been healthy before. Be thankful for your lover but also be thankful when your single, because it helps you grow on your own and discover yourself, as well as making your taken relationship status that much more meaningful. Be thankful for the little things — the air you breathe, the clothes you wear, the food you eat, the things you own — for those are blessings denied to others. Be thankful for the pain and the tears, for they make you stronger. Be thankful for the memories that you’ve created. Be thankful for your talents and dreams, and the opportunities presented to you.

Be thankful for it all, because while there may always be someone who “has it better” or “has more”, there is definitely always someone who has it worse. And try to remember that though Thanksgiving is a day meant to recognize these blessings – and more – amongst food and family, that doesn’t mean you can’t be thankful for it every other day of the year.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone.

“‘I’m bored’ is a useless thing to say. You live in a great, big vast world of which you’ve seen none percent of. Even inside your own mind is endless. It goes on forever, inwardly. Do you understand? The fact that you’re alive is amazing, you don’t get to say, ‘I’m bored.'”

Cheers,

Nicole

About Nicole Evans

Nicole Evans is a writer of fantasy and science fiction. She is currently unpublished and is working fervently to get the “un” removed from that statement. She has five completed manuscripts: a trilogy about destined heroes that fail anyway, a science fiction standalone that pits the natural desire to love against the natural instinct to kill during the extinction of the human race and a new series about a writer who can't get published and gets the chance to live a life that all writers dream. She also has two scripts done. Currently, she is about to start writing the second of a nine book series while planning two more. (If you can tell, she really likes this whole writing thing.) Considering she has run out of space for putting rejections letters up on her wall, Nicole now uses her spare time doing the typical things that nerds do: blogging, dying repeatedly during video games (which she believes is retribution for the characters’ she’s killed), wishing she was the character she is currently reading about and trying to fight off the real world by living in her own head, with varying degrees of success. Nicole has a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Film and Media Studies, and works part-time as a supervisor in a library at the University of Kansas. View all posts by Nicole Evans

Leave questions, comments or angry remarks below...

