An Unexpected Journey

As many of  you are aware, the eagerly-anticipated new venture The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey by Peter Jackson was released just last week. I was one of the many who went and saw the midnight premiere with years of waiting and built-up anticipation fueling my excitement, Tolkien’s words swimming through my head as I had reread the masterpiece in two days prior to the release. Here, I will give my own quick review of the film. And it should come to no surprise that I differ from the critics, based off previous reviews I have written (albeit those are music reviews).

For me, An Unexpected Journey left me craving for more. I was left in a euphoria that I haven’t felt since Sam pulled Frodo up from dangling off the ledge of Mount Doom so many years ago. I could barely express with words to the trio of friends I went to see it with how excited I was at the practically three hour production I had just witnessed. All my expectations, which were terribly high, were completely exceeded. Simply put, The Hobbit was brilliant.

I have followed this journey from the beginning. After finding out how many of the same people were returning from the Lord of the Rings production, both cast and crew, my expectations were set higher than prolly fair for poor ole Peter. But despite claims from critics, Peter did not disappoint. He took me back into Middle Earth — a place I have cherished both in text and on film for as long as I can remember — and rekindled the love I have felt for it since I was a child. So all of you bashing the movie out there, you might as well pipe down and stop talking now, because you’re just plain wrong.

Peter has announced that the story of the Hobbit will be created as a trilogy. Many have scoffed at the idea, but after seeing this film, I could not be more excited. Some claim the film appeared to be too drawn out, but I have to say that I think those that believe this watched a different film than I did. I thought Jackson did such a fantastic job of honoring Tolkien’s work by the amount of detail he put into the movie. It was so terribly well done. I could point out specific points in the book that he drew from and was overly excited in the parts which he expanded. If all the films are at that level, I will be a very pleased Tolkien nerd; very pleased indeed.

The casting was fantastic. Martin Freeman did such a great job at Bilbo, I cannot even begin to describe it. The Dwarves were fantastic, all of them. The Orcs were creepy; the Wargs even more creepy than before with their devilish eyes and starved-frames; the Goblin King was grotesque enough to almost make me want to vomit while he was on screen (but then all I had to do was think of Kili and his hotness, and all was well; I never once thought I’d think a Dwarf to be hot, but leave it to Jackson and Aidan Turner to change that!). And Jackson is nothing but a tease with the scenes with Smaug — or, let me amend myself by calling them scenes-where-Smaug-is-present-yet-we-don’t-get-to-see-them. But I expected as much, to be fair. And I am terribly excited to see how Smaug looks in the next film!! There is still so much potential left to be seen, I cannot get over how excited I am for it. The only negative part about the experience is that we must wait a year before we get to see more.

So, please ignore the critics. They are blatantly ignorant or moronic in this aspect. Jackson has created the beginning of a masterpiece that is on par with The Lord of the Rings. I cannot wait to go see this film once more and am stoked for the films to come!

“I’m going on an adventure!” — Bilbo Baggins

Cheers,

Nicole

About Nicole Evans

Nicole Evans is a writer of fantasy and science fiction. She is currently unpublished and is working fervently to get the “un” removed from that statement. She has five completed manuscripts: a trilogy about destined heroes that fail anyway, a science fiction standalone that pits the natural desire to love against the natural instinct to kill during the extinction of the human race and a new series about a writer who can't get published and gets the chance to live a life that all writers dream. She also has two scripts done. Currently, she is about to start writing the second of a nine book series while planning two more. (If you can tell, she really likes this whole writing thing.) Considering she has run out of space for putting rejections letters up on her wall, Nicole now uses her spare time doing the typical things that nerds do: blogging, dying repeatedly during video games (which she believes is retribution for the characters’ she’s killed), wishing she was the character she is currently reading about and trying to fight off the real world by living in her own head, with varying degrees of success. Nicole has a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Film and Media Studies, and works part-time as a supervisor in a library at the University of Kansas. View all posts by Nicole Evans

Leave questions, comments or angry remarks below...

