Beyond Desolation…

Ladies and Gentleman, time to nerd this up. This is exciting. 

I’ve been obsessed with Tolkien and everything he has written ever since I read The Lord of the Rings for the first time when I was a young girl. I have reread the trilogy more than once and after seeing the masterpiece transcend from paper into film, I have only fallen more in love with the world known as Middle Earth. I loved everything Jackson, the cast, and  his crew did with LOTR. But I must admit, I was apprehensive after The Hobbit was announced. I also read this novel when I was young and though I was not as avid a fan as I was with LOTR, I was still worried about the quality that this film would produce. I mean, could they create the same amount of greatness with The Hobbit as they did with LOTR? Was that even possible? 

I had my doubts, but I can say that I have never been happier to be proven wrong. I attended the midnight premiere of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey and I ended up seeing it in theatres a total of three times within two weeks. I was completely re-captivated and drawn back into Middle Earth, the land that has given me so much already growing up and now. I reread The Hobbit the week before I saw the film, making the story fresh in my head, minute details clear in the forefront of my mind, which raised my expectations and hopes of what Jackson was trying to portray on screen. Obviously, I feel he has exceeded it and ever since getting lost in The Hobbit, all I have wanted is more. Waiting until December for the next installment is the worst punishment Jackson could make us endure, especially with such a tease of Smaug at the end of the first film.

However, only a few days ago, they release the first trailer for The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug. This, ladies and gents, is why I am so terribly excited. 

Jackson released the first official poster for the film a day prior, this past Monday, and I was pumped about that. But then, he released the trailer and the nerd in me screamed with innate joy. I watched the trailer once through, holding my breath without realizing it until the end, where I literally clutched my hand over my mouth as Bilbo was slipping around the rock and coins, trying to escape as Smaug himself sneaks around the corner, his dark red scales shining against the gold,  his pale yellow eye gleaming as he snarls at his intruder. I couldn’t believe that Jackson actually showed us such a massive glimpse of Smaug, I was literally left stunned in my seat for a solid fifteen seconds.

Then, obviously, I watched the trailer again. And again.

Needless to say, I am VERY excited about this film. It looks absolutely stunning from the trailer and there were so many moments that I wanted to see in the first film that weren’t there that popped up within this teaser: images of Thranduil and Legolas (gorgeous blue eyes, the two of them!); the infamous barrel scene that I’m so terribly excited for; flies and spiders (I think the spiders are going to be even creeper than before, if that is even possible); glimpses of the Bard of Dale (played by Luke Evans, also stoked about); and, SMAUG. I am so excited to see more of the dragon that ignited my love and appreciation for these mythical creatures. The amount of promise that this film has is ridiculous and there are so many parts of the book that appear to come to life in this installment, and I couldn’t be more stoked. I am so glad that Jackson and his crew took on this franchise once more. After seeing this trailer, any fears that anyone has left about turning this book into a trilogy should be laid to rest (although I must say, I am curious, with the amount that appears to happen in this film, what on earth is going to happen in film three??), because Jackson obviously knows what he is doing. 

All I can say is, December 13th could NOT come fast enough! 

Cheers,

Nicole

P.S. — And for you unfortunate souls who haven’t seen this trailer yet, I’ll post it for you here. 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fnaojlfdUbs

 

 

About Nicole Evans

Nicole Evans is a writer of fantasy and science fiction. She is currently unpublished and is working fervently to get the “un” removed from that statement. She has five completed manuscripts: a trilogy about destined heroes that fail anyway, a science fiction standalone that pits the natural desire to love against the natural instinct to kill during the extinction of the human race and a new series about a writer who can't get published and gets the chance to live a life that all writers dream. She also has two scripts done. Currently, she is about to start writing the second of a nine book series while planning two more. (If you can tell, she really likes this whole writing thing.) Considering she has run out of space for putting rejections letters up on her wall, Nicole now uses her spare time doing the typical things that nerds do: blogging, dying repeatedly during video games (which she believes is retribution for the characters’ she’s killed), wishing she was the character she is currently reading about and trying to fight off the real world by living in her own head, with varying degrees of success. Nicole has a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Film and Media Studies, and works part-time as a supervisor in a library at the University of Kansas. View all posts by Nicole Evans

Leave questions, comments or angry remarks below...

