Child at Heart

There are just some things that you don’t grow out of. Or should not grow out of, rather. Sword fighting with sticks, racing to finish your ice cream cone before it drips on the pavement, tracing your body with sidewalk chalk, just to name a few. I am turning 21 (which is a total shocker to me, holy cow) late autumn this year and in many ways, people can believe that. But in many other ways, I think people believe I am a woman stuck with a child’s mindset. Like how I really like dragons and am still planning to go on a trip to Romania with my younger brother to find one. Or how I would much rather read a young adult fantasy novel than a piece of classic literature.

Or with my blatant obsession with animated films.

In this area, I think that NO ONE, no matter what age you are, should ever stop loving animated films. They are so brilliant. If I were to give a list of my favorite films of all time, I would say that half of them are animated films. Quest for Camelot? Winner of the most under-appreciated animated film of all time. AnastasiaDefinite contender for favorite film of all time (*disclaimer: The Hobbit and LOTR franchise will always be my favorite films of all time, so when I say favorite film, I am talking about after these films, of course :)). And don’t even get me started on Disney films. I could watch Tangled, Pocahontas, Hercules, Robin Hood, or Mulan all day, every day, they are that good.

Take this summer, for example. I have done some pretty awesome stuff. Went on a roadtrip with two of my best friends, that rocked. Started a new job at a summer camp. Going to a concert on Tuesday for the 4th year running and super pumped about that. But one of the things that I was *most* excited about for the summer was the release of Despicable Me 2. If that doesn’t tell you I am a child at heart, then I dunno what does.

I went and saw the film on the 4th with my favorite familia and it was SO GOOD. I absolutely loved it. I just want to steal a minion and take him home with me. I think Dave is my favorite…or possibly Phil, I can’t decide which, they are all so funny. But I loved the plot line — Gru is convinced to work for Anti-Villain League to try and figure out who is behind the latest batch of crimes, while also trying to figure out his feelings for Agent Lucy and deal with his girls growing up at the same time — and I love all the characters. Basically, the entire film was fantastic and definitely one of the highlights of my summer. If you haven’t seen it, stop reading this blog and go see it. Right now.

So, saying that Despicable Me 2 was the best film I saw this summer definitely speaks to the child in me. But, I think this speaks to it even more: about how pumped I am for next summer. Because next summer, guess what comes out? Just guess. Only the sequel to one of the BEST animated films I have seen, ever.

That’s right: How to Train your Dragon 2!!!!!!!!

I am beyond pumped for this film. So, so, so excited. Especially because they just released the trailer last week. Toothless, who is as adorable and hilarious as the minions, if not more so, is as cute as ever. And Hiccup, my favorite awkward underdog…well, I think the picture below speaks for itself.

 

^ Nothing is better than a HTTYD and Harry Potter mashup. Haha.

Although we don’t learn much about the plot for this next hit, I am definitely excited to see what they plan to do with the film. And if Hiccup looks this different, I’m excited to see what the other characters look like and how they have evolved. I’m excited that I already have my highlight planned for next summer, even if I’ll be in the theatre filled with kids half my age or younger. I hope that no matter how old you are, you still embrace special things from your childhood that keep the child within you alive. Because seriously, who wants to grow up completely?

Cheers,

Nicole

P.S: Trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=68AqHwgk2s8

About Nicole Evans

Nicole Evans is a writer of fantasy and science fiction. She is currently unpublished and is working fervently to get the “un” removed from that statement. She has five completed manuscripts: a trilogy about destined heroes that fail anyway, a science fiction standalone that pits the natural desire to love against the natural instinct to kill during the extinction of the human race and a new series about a writer who can't get published and gets the chance to live a life that all writers dream. She also has two scripts done. Currently, she is about to start writing the second of a nine book series while planning two more. (If you can tell, she really likes this whole writing thing.) Considering she has run out of space for putting rejections letters up on her wall, Nicole now uses her spare time doing the typical things that nerds do: blogging, dying repeatedly during video games (which she believes is retribution for the characters’ she’s killed), wishing she was the character she is currently reading about and trying to fight off the real world by living in her own head, with varying degrees of success. Nicole has a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Film and Media Studies, and works part-time as a supervisor in a library at the University of Kansas. View all posts by Nicole Evans

Leave questions, comments or angry remarks below...

