I Can’t Even Properly Title This Post…

So, it is currently four in the morning. I am listening to Ed Sheeran on repeat (I bet you can guess the song) as I force myself to stay awake to write this post. Because I must write out my first initial reactions before sleep carries me back to the Middle Earth that I have had the pleasure to be lost within the past, eh, three hours. Disclaimer: DESOLATION OF SMAUG SPOILERS BELOW. Read at your own peril.

I plan to do a proper film review after I see the film for a second time (for I will see it at least two more times in theatres, I assure you) but I wanted to jot down a couple things that I thought of while finally watching The Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug after waiting over a year for its release.

First: Beorn is brilliant. His appearance as a man is perfect, his beast form is beautiful. I loved being introduced to him so early in the film and can’t wait to see more of him in film three. 

Secondly: SAURON imagery!?! How freaking brilliant was that? The whole scene between Gandalf and the Necromancer/Sauron’s spirit was absolutely divine and chilling. And going into the Witch King’s tomb??? I was freaking out as soon as I realized that is where Gandalf was meeting Radagast…ahh. 

Third: I love how we got to see more of some of the dwarves that weren’t as prevalent in the first films, e.g., Bombur mastering the barrel roll, Oin’s medical expertise, etc. I think that is really cool. 

Fourth: Before I get to Smaug, I must say this: this film literally had me sitting on the edge of my seat. I literally had to sit forward, hug myself and try to get as close as possible to the screen, I was so eager for the scene with Smaug and what was going to happen. I’d say the last 45 minutes of the film, I was physically not able to sit back. The fact that half of the row I was sitting in did the same says something, I think. But Smaug…he is the perfect of perfect. I was blown away by his realism, frightened by his power, charmed by his tongue and awed by his beauty, majesty and breath-taking presence. I cannot and will never be able to give Peter Jackson and his crew enough credit for what they have done with this magnificent, amazing creature. He is so perfectly, amazingly brilliant. Absolutely stunning.

Finally: When the screen went back, I was in such awe over what they did with the film and how amazing it was, and in complete shock that they would end it there, so cruelly, that I literally fell back in my chair and could not move for a good two minutes. The fact that we are now going to play the waiting game for the third film is going to kill me, to the point that I cannot even properly title this post, my emotions are so thrown all over the place. But I can say this: Jackson and his crew have done so masterfully a wonderful job that I can leave satisfied, just completely hungry, but not starved…for now (as long as the film is in the theatres for me to watch again and again). Jackson, your genius will never cease to amazing me. Thank you so much. To anyone interested, I will write a more Tolkien-esqe, film review of the film after I have had time to process it and watch it again, but for now, I am going to go to my bed and get lost in Middle Earth once more.

Cheers,

Nicole 

About Nicole Evans

Nicole Evans is a writer of fantasy and science fiction. She is currently unpublished and is working fervently to get the “un” removed from that statement. She has five completed manuscripts: a trilogy about destined heroes that fail anyway, a science fiction standalone that pits the natural desire to love against the natural instinct to kill during the extinction of the human race and a new series about a writer who can't get published and gets the chance to live a life that all writers dream. She also has two scripts done. Currently, she is about to start writing the second of a nine book series while planning two more. (If you can tell, she really likes this whole writing thing.) Considering she has run out of space for putting rejections letters up on her wall, Nicole now uses her spare time doing the typical things that nerds do: blogging, dying repeatedly during video games (which she believes is retribution for the characters’ she’s killed), wishing she was the character she is currently reading about and trying to fight off the real world by living in her own head, with varying degrees of success. Nicole has a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Film and Media Studies, and works part-time as a supervisor in a library at the University of Kansas. View all posts by Nicole Evans

Leave questions, comments or angry remarks below...

