Honor Your Passions

Everyone knows I’m a self-proclaimed writer. I write this blog, for example. I write book reviews here (just started doing that this year). I occasionally write in a journal. I write letters, papers for classes, etc, I am also working on a debut trilogy (two books drafted and in the process of being edited, one to go), plus have completed two screenplays (one full-length science-fiction heart-breaker I want to adapt into a book series and a shorter, 15-minute post-apocalypse collaboration). And, I just started getting into fanfict, where I am starting to write a novel-length fanfict over the character I created in Dragon Age: Origins (hoping to do a volume per game from the Dragon Age franchise) which I am posting by chapter here (one chapter posted, two chapters completed).

So yes, I think this claim isn’t too far-fetched of a claim. Yet despite how much I claim to write, I don’t write that consistently, instead writing in big spurts (for example, I haven’t written in almost three weeks until yesterday, when I spent two hours writing an opinion article about gaming, five hours writing the next chapter for the fanfict and then proceeded to stay up until 1 in the morning editing the second book in my trilogy, which I continued to edit from 10am this morning until 8:30pm tonight ((literally)). And now I’m writing this blog. So yeah, it comes in spurts and I wish these spurts hit more often. Or not even hit, per say, but I wish I decided to sit down and try to write more often.

“Why?” you might ask. You obviously write quite a bit…almost overwhelming so, it may seem to some. But for me, that is my passion: writing, particularly creatively; escaping into the mind of a character I have created, presenting her with a problem and then trying to figure out how to get her out of it; describing a battle sequence using weapons that went out of style ages ago, doing research to make sure I described the weapon right, or watching YouTube videos to make sure I can describe a sword fight properly, while pushing the limits of how much gore I can detail before I lose my audience; discovering new worlds or landscapes or ideas that, reading back upon them, honestly blow my mind came from my own head (and sometimes, makes me question my own sanity). When I write, even when I am in my sorest moods, depressed or upset or angry, I feel whole. I feel powerful. My mood will instantly improve and it is amazing how accomplished I feel, no matter if it is simply an hour spending editing one paragraph or three hours writing something completely new. Writing is one of the main things that keeps me sane and I can’t wait to be an author one day, to inspire other writers and readers like I have been inspired so often.

Basically, the point of this post is this: find your passion and follow it; honor it. Don’t do what I do so often and go days, weeks, sometimes even months, without doing what you know you love, using excuses like, “Oh, I’m too busy,” or “I’m not feeling it,” or “I’d rather binge-watch Netflix for 12 days.” There is a reason God blessed you with either a talent you love or helped you find something that you enjoy so thoroughly, it conquers anything else you’re going through. It is in your life for a reason. For me, it’s writing (and reading and gaming and LOTR, but those are passions/obsessions for another post). Find yours and cherish it, because it is a special thing, indeed.

Cheers,

Nicole

About Nicole Evans

Nicole Evans is a writer of fantasy and science fiction. She is currently unpublished and is working fervently to get the “un” removed from that statement. She has five completed manuscripts: a trilogy about destined heroes that fail anyway, a science fiction standalone that pits the natural desire to love against the natural instinct to kill during the extinction of the human race and a new series about a writer who can't get published and gets the chance to live a life that all writers dream. She also has two scripts done. Currently, she is about to start writing the second of a nine book series while planning two more. (If you can tell, she really likes this whole writing thing.) Considering she has run out of space for putting rejections letters up on her wall, Nicole now uses her spare time doing the typical things that nerds do: blogging, dying repeatedly during video games (which she believes is retribution for the characters’ she’s killed), wishing she was the character she is currently reading about and trying to fight off the real world by living in her own head, with varying degrees of success. Nicole has a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Film and Media Studies, and works part-time as a supervisor in a library at the University of Kansas. View all posts by Nicole Evans

One response to “Honor Your Passions

Leave questions, comments or angry remarks below...

