Nomination and Nominating: Siblinghood of the World Blogger Award

I may an introvert with extroverted tendencies, but I love answering questions and getting to know other people. When I get to talk about about writing, it’s like an added bonus. But when I get to answer questions and ask others different questions by writing my responses and queries in a blog post (thus honing my introverted solo vibes) and still get to know other people (thus embracing my extroverted desires) is like getting presented a cake, getting to eat it and you don’t get fat because of it. How do I get to do this, you ask? Well, apparently sometimes these question chains travel around through blogs, where one blogger will answer questions after being nominated by a previous blogger, and then will nominate other bloggers to do the same. And thus the cycle begins. I’ve never been been a part of one of these awesome cycles.

Until now.

I was nominated by a new writer friend who has a similar soul, similar dreams regarding writing, gets as excited as I do about nerdy things and is as encouraging as she is funny. She’s R.K. Brainerd. Her blog can be found here. The post where she tagged me can be read here. You should not only read her blog, but also follow her. You’ll be glad that you did, once she’s a super successful author and you can claim you knew her “before” she took over the world with her stories and positivity. Seriously. Go do it.

The “rules” for this nomination are: answer the questions posed for you. Then, pose your own ten original questions and tag ten bloggers you want to read their responses. *cracks knuckles* Let’s do this thing.

  1. When did you start writing?

I started writing…gosh, I don’t actually know. The first story I remember attempting was in the 3rd grade, I think. Or perhaps 6th. I do remember it included all of my classmates in starring roles, flying pigs and skeletons with bloody daggers (yeah, I dunno I’m not published, either. :P) Regardless, I don’t really remember a time I wasn’t writing and I can’t imagine not writing now.

  1. Similarly, when did you start writing with the intention to publish/share your writing?

I’m not sure when my brain made the transition between writing to write and writing with hopes to get published. Actually, thinking about it, I’m not sure if it has made the transition at all, yet. I attempted to write my first novel in 7th grade. I got roughly 100 pages in by the time I reached high school and suddenly, school became more important than writing (thankfully, I’ve given writing the importance it deserves, now, and my stories thank me for that). Looking back at the printed draft that remains, it needs a lot (and I mean a lot) of work and I don’t know if I’ll ever actually go back to it. But when writing it, I just assumed I’d publish it one day. Since, I’ve completed a trilogy, working on a new series, have the inklings of another and the barest threads of another. I plan to attempt to publish them all. Whether they get published or not, who knows. But it will never be for lack of trying or for lack of hope, despite constant doubt and trials.

  1. Do you have/had any weird pets?

Unless dogs count as weird, then unfortunately, no. But I’ve always wanted a dragon. Does that count?

  1. What’s your favorite animal?

Dragon. Wolf. Hawk.

  1. What element in your writing are you working on improving?

My wordiness, I think (which I could also apply to my blog…sorry, readers). Brevity is a beautiful thing, but it is as foreign to me as anything can be. I’m also working on trying to be not so attached to my writing, so I take criticism not as a stab to the heart, but instead as a hand reaching down to help me up a ladder that eventually leads to me telling stories for a living.

  1. What’s the worst job you’ve ever had?

Worst job…I honestly don’t think I’ve had one. I’ve been a concessions worker, a hostess/busser/waitress, a Resident Assistant, a librarian assistant, a Graduate Teaching Assistant, an office assistant (and manager) and now work as a part-time supervisor at a library. Positives and negatives to all of them (and apparently, a lot of assistant experience).

  1. What’s the weirdest place you’ve written?

Again, I think I’m going to be boring. I’ve only written at home, in libraries, coffees shops and the like. But now I feel like this is a challenge.

  1. What’s your favorite food?

Pasta. Some good spaghetti and marinari sauce, creamy alfredo, meatballs…there are just so many variations! With breadsticks, because, curves.

  1. What’s the last thing you needed to research for your writing?

Ha. For my current work in progress, I researched brain stem death, the strength of muscles in the body, the function of different Glocks, the current and projected population of the world and concept art of droids and humans during the apocalypse.

I should incorporate that in my pitch. If you don’t want to read my latest book after reading that, then…you’re probably a normal human being and not as weird as I am. 😛

  1. If you could, what advice would you give to yourself when you first started writing?

Don’t forget your heart. Write with it. Write the story you want to, not the story that makes money. Because at the end of the day, the paycheck doesn’t matter. The fame or glory doesn’t matter. None of it matters if you don’t pour your soul into your story and write something that makes your heart sing and makes you scared. Because, hint: if you write with that much passion and work as hard as necessary, you’ll dream will come true and you’ll be happy.

Here are the questions I hope my nominees will answer:

  1. Why do you write?
  2. What would be the hardest part about surviving the apocalypse?
  3. What author has inspired your writing the most?
  4. Your top five animated films?
  5. Have you ever read any books on craft? If so, which was your favorite and why?
  6. Which fictional land would you have to visit and why?
  7. What is the best advice you’ve ever gotten about writing?
  8. Which element do you wish you could control?
  9. What is your current writing project about and what about it excites you?
  10. Most importantly: favorite type of cheese?

Below are my nominations. But they are not just nominations. They are also blogs you should follow and writers you should support. We’ll all be telling stories for a living, one day.

Amanda: Brown Eyed Twenty Something
Tanna: Teapunk Noveling
Sione: Sione Aeschliman
Mike: Mike Kern Fiction
Lisa: Lisa Lancaster
Beth: Just B More
Sarah: Sarah J. Carlson
Jessica and Sandi: American Writers Exposed
Laura: Laura Rueckert
Bridgid: Bridgid Gallagher

Cheers!

About Nicole Evans

Nicole Evans is a writer of fantasy and science fiction. She is currently unpublished and is working fervently to get the "un" removed from that statement. She's written a trilogy about destined heroes that fail anyway, has started a science fiction trilogy that pits the natural desire to love against the natural instinct to kill during the extinction of the human race and the start of a series with the sole goal of fitting in as many tropes as possible into nine books.  She really can't wait for you to read these stories.  Considering she has run out of space for putting rejections letters up on her wall, Nicole now uses her spare time doing the typical things that nerds do: blogging, dying repeatedly during video games (which she believes is retribution for the characters' she's killed), wishing she was the character she is currently reading about and trying to fight off the real world by living in her own head, with varying degrees of success. Nicole has a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Film and Media Studies, and works as an evening librarian assistant. View all posts by Nicole Evans

9 responses to “Nomination and Nominating: Siblinghood of the World Blogger Award

Leave questions, comments or angry remarks below...

