Post-College Life

It’s been a year since I’ve graduated from college. A year. And as some of my friends graduate and my social media feeds are blown up with images of caps and gowns, my heart is filled with intense nostalgia. Naturally, I think about how mind-blowing the fact is that a year has gone by already and I reflect on what I’ve done with that time. And even more naturally, I’ve decided to blog about it.

Hello.

Since walking down the hill with one of my closest friends, I’ve definitely had a roller-coaster of a year. I floundered trying to figure out what to do next and ending up applying to grad school last minute. Got rejected to all five schools. Then, in the middle of summer, got accepted into one of those schools after they received more funding. Moved 12 hours away after frantically trying to play catch-up with everything I should have done had I been accepted in March instead of July. Survived a semester of grad school. Taught and loved it. Had a resurfacing of depression so intense, I dropped out of grad school and moved back home because of it. Was unemployed for almost three months. Got a part-time job that I’m currently working at my undergraduate university and still living with my parents.Had my car break down, twice, which financially destroyed my reserves, so I’m slowly trying to build up my bank account while I search for a second job, simply to make ends meet and become fully independent. Tentatively planning a trip abroad because I know that traveling is an aspect of my life that is practically non-existent, yet I want to be more important than it is now.

And then there is the writing side of life. The end of last semester, after completing my first NaNoWriMo, I finished the third book of my trilogy. A few months later, I started adapting a screenplay into a novel which has changed shape and evolved so much, I’m going to have to completely rewrite the screenplay and might have to work on a sequel next year, for a story that was meant to be a standalone. I started using Twitter as a writing platform and entering contests there, none of which I have won but some where I’ve gotten close. I’ve formed amazing connections with other writers who have quickly turned into friends and inspirations. Even sparked a friendship with an amazing editor who has taken me under her wing, letting me help her edit a manuscript as my first paying freelance editing gig. I found beta readers and critique partners and have had a blast helping other writers improve their stories while they do the same for me. I’m almost done with my fourth book and have plans to edit two books this summer while mapping out the bones for another series I hope to start writing in the fall. Plus, going to enter the query trenches again soon, after editing. I’ve been giving my writing more time and taken it more seriously, which has been a fantastic change. 

A lot has happened in my year living as a college graduate and a pseudo-adult. There have been some hardships and there have been some joys. I’ve become more of a recluse and lost friends because of it, and that is a regret I’m going to have to live with for some time. If you’re one of those friends and you’re reading this, know that I’m sorry and you deserved better. I’m failed but I’ve also grown. I’m slowly discovering the type of woman, the type of adult, I’m going to grow into and become. And I have to say, I kind of like her and that in itself is exciting. Though I miss college more than I can imagine–those papers and stressing about finals can stay in the past–I’m excited for the journey ahead. I’m excited to continue to discover what happens next as I work towards making my dreams come true and figuring out the type of person I want to be.

Here’s to another year in the real world. Though let’s be honest: most of that time I’ll be somewhere else, whether inside my head or snuggling into someone else’s pages. And I’m perfectly content with that.

Cheers.

About Nicole Evans

Nicole Evans is a writer of fantasy and science fiction. She is currently unpublished and is working fervently to get the “un” removed from that statement. She has five completed manuscripts: a trilogy about destined heroes that fail anyway, a science fiction standalone that pits the natural desire to love against the natural instinct to kill during the extinction of the human race and a new series about a writer who can't get published and gets the chance to live a life that all writers dream. She also has two scripts done. Currently, she is about to start writing the second of a nine book series while planning two more. (If you can tell, she really likes this whole writing thing.) Considering she has run out of space for putting rejections letters up on her wall, Nicole now uses her spare time doing the typical things that nerds do: blogging, dying repeatedly during video games (which she believes is retribution for the characters’ she’s killed), wishing she was the character she is currently reading about and trying to fight off the real world by living in her own head, with varying degrees of success. Nicole has a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Film and Media Studies, and works part-time as a supervisor in a library at the University of Kansas. View all posts by Nicole Evans

6 responses to “Post-College Life

  • charliebagpiper

    Nicole, I just want to say keep up the great work. I enjoy your musings and know that much of what goes on in your head runs through ours as well. It took me a long time to get up the nerve to even get someone else to read my book, then again to go through editing while keeping a thick skin. The hardest part came with putting my book on Amazon, but now, it’s like a dam broke. I’m madly finishing & editing my other three books and enjoying every minute of it.
    Please, keep sending your updates as I believe you speak for us all.
    Charlie

    • inkstaind13

      Charlie:
      Well gosh if you didn’t make my night! Thank you so much! Actually, I fear that often, both with my blog and with my stories, that people won’t connect with them or wonder why I write or post them at all. So it is so validating to hear that someone enjoys this blog and feels my voice speaks for others, as well. That seriously made my night. Congrats on having a successful book on Amazon!!! That’s fantastic! Mind telling me what it is about? 🙂 I hope you continue to enjoy the life of a writer as you frantically work on editing. May the Muses be good to you. Good luck with it all and thanks for reading the blog. Seriously.
      — Nicole

      • charliebagpiper

        Nicole, my book is a scifi book called The Legend’s Gate – Book I The Journal of Samuel. I just finished Book II about three weeks ago, letting it cool off before I begin editing. In the interim, I’ve rediscovered a sci-fi fantasy book I wrote in Nano 2014. When I re-read it I thought it was really good (though I am biased lol). At the moment, I’m trying to finish editing it and have just picked out a couple of potential cover images. I may be looking for a couple of people willing to read it and give feedback (hint hint).
        I will admit that I am like a little kid when it comes to having a book on Amazon. The novelty has yet to wear off when I search for my name and my book comes up!
        Take care, Charlie

      • inkstaind13

        Sounds intriguing! And smart to let it cool while it edits. That is always super hard to do (I’m almost done with my current WIP and it is so hard not to immediately want to go back through to edit and improve). All of that sounds super exciting! And to respond to your hint, I would be honored, however, I have quite a few projects on my plate at the moment and I’m struggling enough as it is staying on top of the manuscripts I’m currently editing for other critique partners, so I’m afraid I’ll have to pass, at the moment. :/ However, maybe in the future, we can arrange a swap! 🙂 The novelty should never wear off. It is such a grand accomplishment! 😀

  • Lola @ Hit or Miss Books

    This was so honest. I loved reading it. Man, I’m so scared of university. I mean, I don’t mind the studying part at all – since I’m good at it – but what happens after? What if I can’t find a job? What if I can’t find the job I studied for? It’s all very stressing. I hope everything worked out well for you in the end and that you’ll end up traveling like you want to.

    • inkstaind13

      I’m so glad you enjoyed it! 😀 The only advice is I can give you is this: at the end of the day, do what you love. Get a degree that will help lead you to your dream job and help you be happy in life, not a degree that guarantees the biggest paycheck. Because, like you stress, there isn’t a guarantee come graduation. You may flounder. You may be unemployed for a while. You may hate your first job–or twelve. But work towards that happiness. And enjoy university. Goodness, enjoy it. Oh, and an internship junior year is really smart. 🙂 Thanks for the well-wishes and for reading the blog. Always appreciated. 😀

Leave questions, comments or angry remarks below...

