Camp NaNoWriMo: Round Two

I attempted Camp NaNoWriMo a few months back in April (at least, I think it was April) and I didn’t keep up with it at all (obviously, since I can’t even keep the month when it happened straight). I’m not sure if it was because it had a bit more freedom than NaNoWriMo in November has, allowing me to work on editing projects and the like, or if it was the time of the year, or whathaveyou. Unfortunately, I wasn’t a dedicated camper. Yet the novel I was working on–tentatively titled THE RESISTANCE–did get finished a month and a half later, so it wasn’t too much of a failure; more like a delay. That novel sits on the shelf, waiting to be edited come August, prepping for the Pitch to Publication Twitter contest in October. I started writing another novel a few weeks after finishing that draft, unable to ignore the characters that were begging to be written the entire time I had been working on THE RESISTANCE.

Plus, it got me out of editing.

I’ve written about Darryn and his story before. I love him. I love his story. It’s a story of my heart. It’s the trilogy that gave me confidence to continue writing. I’ve also worked on it relentlessly, especially the first book. I’ve queried it, I’ve learned how it could be improved, I’ve continued to fight on its behalf and I’ve gone back to the drawing board, multiple times. Yet after even more feedback, I have to go back to the editing board again.

I’ve been putting it off that reality for quite some time.

It’s not that I’ve lost passion for Darryn or his story. I love the characters. I love the world that they inhibit, their abilities, their struggles and how they continue to teach me new things about them. But I have so many other stories I want to write. Darryn’s story had become so familiar that I needed to branch away, distance myself, and allow him to breathe, before editing transformed into “too-much-editing,” thus harming the story.

But I’d be kidding myself if I claimed the story needed more time to marinate.

It’s time to get back into the editing grind, even though it is the last thing I want to do. Thankfully, I have some feedback from some awesome beta readers to help guide me. I have a goal deadline: August, as that is when I’m doing a trilogy trade with a mentor and friend, so I want her to have the most updated, polished version I can give her (because it has been a while since I’ve hung out with Darryn and I need to make sure I’m not giving her complete rubbish). Plus, aside from reworking the beginning a bit to start the story in a more important place, I’m focusing this round of edits more on making the words themselves stronger and less on fixing plot, the latter which has always been a focus during the endless rounds of previous edits. So despite returning to the most grueling task a writer has to deal with, in my opinion, at least it has some new elements mixed in.

Camp is back in session tomorrow and lasts the entire month of July. I’ve got a month (well, let’s be honest; I’ll start working on it on the 5th, after the holiday and my brother’s State baseball tournament) to get this beast edited down and proofed before I send it away again to be read, enjoyed and questioned. I signed up, joined a Cabin and am hopeful that I’ll be more dedicated this time around than I was previously. I don’t plan to stop writing the new series, either. Something I’ve never done before, working on two different projects at once. It’ll be a challenge, definitely, but something that needs to happen.

So I’m going to do it.

Anyone else doing Camp NaNoWriMo? I’d love to hear what project your working on and offer any encouragement and support throughout the month, if I can! 🙂

Cheers.

About Nicole Evans

Nicole Evans is a writer of fantasy and science fiction. She is currently unpublished and is working fervently to get the “un” removed from that statement. She has five completed manuscripts: a trilogy about destined heroes that fail anyway, a science fiction standalone that pits the natural desire to love against the natural instinct to kill during the extinction of the human race and a new series about a writer who can't get published and gets the chance to live a life that all writers dream. She also has two scripts done. Currently, she is about to start writing the second of a nine book series while planning two more. (If you can tell, she really likes this whole writing thing.) Considering she has run out of space for putting rejections letters up on her wall, Nicole now uses her spare time doing the typical things that nerds do: blogging, dying repeatedly during video games (which she believes is retribution for the characters’ she’s killed), wishing she was the character she is currently reading about and trying to fight off the real world by living in her own head, with varying degrees of success. Nicole has a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Film and Media Studies, and works part-time as a supervisor in a library at the University of Kansas. View all posts by Nicole Evans

2 responses to “Camp NaNoWriMo: Round Two

  • Kaily

    Ooohhh! Am I one of those awesome beta readers? Loved it and lets talk again soon about any changes you are thinking about or any questions you might have for me!

    • inkstaind13

      You are THE awesome beta reader. ❤ ❤ I will definitely be coming back your way soon. Finally revising this beast and your feedback has constantly sat in my head whilst I do. 🙂

Leave questions, comments or angry remarks below...

