Quest for Happiness: Starting Week One

qfh

So, like so many people did (and I actually really enjoyed reading through all the posts), I wrote a Resolutions posts. And usually, I write it, feel really committed, last the month of January before my resolutions take a nose dive into the deep end and become lost in the murky waters, not revisited until the waters clear the following New Year. This year, apparently I’m taking a new approach.

I haven’t even started yet.

My work schedule has still been on holiday hours, which has made it pretty impossible to fit in working out or writing, my main two goals. Also, let’s be real: I got lazy and chose to do some other things, like sleep or playing the PS4, instead of really working towards fitting anything related to my goals in. But this week, my schedule regulates and I can start a routine again.

So it may be the third week of January, but it’s the first week in my Quest for Happiness.

Like I’m going to try to do each Sunday, below I’m going to list my long-term goals for the year, as a repeat to myself of what I want to accomplish. Then, list my goals to complete for the week. And, once this gets rolling, I’ll write whether I accomplished last week’s goal or not. My readers on this blog are fantastic and encouraging and I can’t think of a better audience to hold me accountable or remind me to be forgiving of myself when I fall short.

So, here we go:

Fitness:

  • Long-term Goal: Craft the body I want (toned, 40 pounds lighter ((which, by the way, is not a 201 deadline, but just a life goal)) and beautiful in my eyes) through forming a regular running/gym routine.
  • Weekly Goal: Go to the gym. Once.
    • While my ideal goal is to go to the gym five times a week for 30-45 minutes a day in-between jobs, I won’t lie and say that there hasn’t been opportunity for me to go the first 15 days of January. I’ve just been too nervous to even attempt going to the gym where I bought a membership for. So this week, I just want to make it there and do one workout, as that’s a huge mental hurdle to overcome in order to begin working towards my main goal.

Writing:

  • Long-term Goal: Edit three books, write four new books and query at least one.
  • Weekly Goal: Write three times a week on BLOOD PRICE and outline another novel.
    • I finally started working on BLOOD PRICE again and would like to slowly build myself back up to writing every day and working on my novels…and believing they are worth working on. So making forward process on BLOOD PRICE while setting the foundation on another novel is the key this week.

Reading:

  • Long-term Goal: Read 60 books.
  • Weekly Goal: Read every night before bed.
    • Reading is something that I’ve sacrificed in lieu of other things and I really miss it. I want that to change. So, I hope to get back into the habit I had in high school of reading before bed; putting away the cellphone, stop checking emails and instead, put on some soft tunes and unwind each night, whether it is ten minutes or thirty (or way past the getting-seven-hours-mark) lost between the pages of a paperback.

Blogging:

  • Long-term Goal: Increase output over all three blogs, i.e., write more consistently.
  • Weekly Goal: Try out new blogging schedule and see if it works.
    • I have a tentative blog schedule planned, which is mostly just days picked out where I have “write a random post” written on the calendar. But still, I’d like to write more consistently on all my blogs, especially my newish book review blog.

Financial:

  • Long-term Goal: Manage money with more awareness, start retirement fund and build savings.
  • Weekly Goal: Balance checkbook for the week.
    • I did buy a new set of checks, which came with a register (which is honestly all I wanted), which was the first step in working towards this goal. I really, really want to form the habit of writing down everything I spend and everything that is put into my checking account.

So there you go! I’m hoping to do this every Sunday, so hopefully that doesn’t bore you. But, it probably might. Yet, I can already feel it’s going to be helpful for me. Plus, I thought it would be neat, not only to have some accountability, but also to be able to look back and, week by week, post by post, see the process I’ve made and the bumps in the road. It’ll be really cool when I reach exactly where I want to be.

Here’s to starting resolutions and making strides to keep them…even if starting a bit late. 🙂

Cheers.

About Nicole Evans

Nicole Evans is a writer of fantasy and science fiction. She is currently unpublished and is working fervently to get the “un” removed from that statement. She has five completed manuscripts: a trilogy about destined heroes that fail anyway, a science fiction standalone that pits the natural desire to love against the natural instinct to kill during the extinction of the human race and a new series about a writer who can't get published and gets the chance to live a life that all writers dream. She also has two scripts done. Currently, she is about to start writing the second of a nine book series while planning two more. (If you can tell, she really likes this whole writing thing.) Considering she has run out of space for putting rejections letters up on her wall, Nicole now uses her spare time doing the typical things that nerds do: blogging, dying repeatedly during video games (which she believes is retribution for the characters’ she’s killed), wishing she was the character she is currently reading about and trying to fight off the real world by living in her own head, with varying degrees of success. Nicole has a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Film and Media Studies, and works part-time as a supervisor in a library at the University of Kansas. View all posts by Nicole Evans

24 responses to “Quest for Happiness: Starting Week One

  • lightafireinstead

    Great idea!! I love that you have substantial long-term goals but are taking them in small steps. Much more manageable and less overwhelming! I’ve still been on a pseudo-holiday schedule myself, so some of my goals haven’t seen much progress yet, either… Also, we should totally be accountability buddies. 😛

    • Nicole Evans

      I think one of the reasons I’ve never actually been able to stick with my goals (okay, actually two reasons) is one, that I always focused on the long-term goal and then got disappointed when I never reached that long-term goal, instead of breaking it up into more manageable chunks and celebrating the little victories, too. Two, I always gave myself a deadline when what I wanted was a life change. This is particularly true with fitness and losing weight. It’s always been, “I must be X weight by Y date,” which is too much pressure. So I am really stoked about this system and getting off the holiday schedule and back into the normal. Yes, please, accountability buddies. I’d love that!

  • QuinnBin

    This is such a great idea! I’m surprised more people don’t start with writing out goals or completing weekly goals and working their way up. Seems very smart – excited to see how well it works!

  • philcharlesr

    In a few months you’ll be in an interesting paradox. You’ll be a long way along the path, with documented evidence of the steps you took. But even so, you’ll still not be quite sure how you achieved so much 🙂

  • azpascoe

    If you’d ever like some advice or guidance with the gym, please let me know! James and I are both qualified as personal trainers and have a bit of personal experience in training 🙂 Sound like some awesome goals! I’d add into your fitness goals to be stronger: women tend to undervalue it, but I think a lot of my personal confidence came about from finding something that made me feel powerful and in control 🙂 Anyway, good luck! 🙂

    • Nicole Evans

      I may have to hit you up with that, Ana. Basically, I want to become more fit (and stronger is definitely in that mix), but as far as body shaping, I really want to work on my entire backside, oddly enough (triceps, lower back ((especially)), butt, quads, calves). So if we have any advice on how to target those areas, I’d super appreciate it. I’d love to learn from your wisdom! Thank you, my dear! ❤

      • azpascoe

        I’ll email you some thoughts!! And working on your ‘non-beach muscles’ (i.e. the stuff that isn’t as easy to see in the mirror) is an awesome idea, because a lot of injury results from muscle imbalance, so that’s a kick ass goal 😀 ❤

      • Nicole Evans

        I emailed you back, but I just have to publicly proclaim HOW AWESOME YOU ARE.

      • azpascoe

        Haha not at all! I’m excited about helping you in any way I can 🙂 ❤

  • Olivia

    This is a great idea – posting your progress every week to bring some accountability. I’ve found that having someone (or someones) to keep me accountable each and every day for my health/fitness goals has made a HUGE difference. I’m happy to be a part of the group that can do it for you too! You go girl!

    • Nicole Evans

      Ah, I am still so impressed and inspired by how well you have done. You are the second woman, I think (or maybe even third, now that I really think about it) who has made similar goals to me, worked towards them and yet didn’t give up. I’m just going to have to text you often so I can just absorb your awesomeness. 🙂

      • Olivia

        You can do it girl!! I have faith in you – and you are welcome to text me incessantly in order to reach your goals 🙂 there’s a reason we all have these goals and yet struggle to reach them every single year – they’re hard!! It’s a big struggle to stick with it on the good days, and a miracle to stick with it on the crappy ones. I’m no role model, just a fellow struggling soul who can help relate.

      • Nicole Evans

        And I have faith right back atcha! You’re not wrong about that. I’ve been so excited about going to the gym but now that it’s happening tomorrow, I’m getting nervous and ridiculous. *facepalm* I’ll take role model and fellow struggling soul who can help relate. 🙂

  • Weekly Goals – Week 1 (And. Here. We. Go!) – Light a Fire Instead

    […] different, of that much I am determined. In order to stick to my goals, and following the inspiring example of Nicole over at Thoughts Stained with Ink, I’m going to start (re)posting my long-term […]

  • upsidedownartwriting

    This is so inspiring, Nicole! I love all your goals and I have so much faith that you’ll accomplish them! Financial goals were big for me this year too, so I created a spreadsheet where I list everything I spend by category, and then each category is color-coded by variance (i.e. rent is non-negotiable, but buying plants that I’m going to kill anyway is something that I could change if needed). I have an estimated budget for each category and at the end of the month, I’m going to see how close I came to it. Not sure if that helps you or not, but it’s been really useful for me to see how much I can save and where I need to cut back. 🙂

    Anyway, I have such faith in you and I can’t wait to see how you progress on everything throughout 2017! 🙂

    • Nicole Evans

      I’m glad you enjoyed it! I love that spreadsheet idea. I may have to try that out. And I actually laughed aloud when I read about your plants. I don’t even bother with them. Thank you so much and I am so stoked to see what you accomplish this year, as well! ❤

  • M.A. Crosbie

    YESSSS this is brilliant. I read Marie’s post too and you guys are so organized and inspiring. I totally get the gym-anxiety, but after that first trip I’m sure it will get easier!! And we’re all behind you on these goals. We believe in you ❤

    • Nicole Evans

      You are so sweet for checking out Marie’s post, too! I love her blog (and her as a human, honestly). So far, I’d made it two days to the gym and really enjoyed it. And your belief and support and encouragement means so much more than you realize. Honestly. Thank you. ❤

  • A Guiding Focus | Thoughts Stained With Ink

    […] you follow this blog, you may have noticed my resolutions post and then the subsequent update posts I publish every Sunday. I feared that this repetition and constant harping over my personal goals […]

Leave questions, comments or angry remarks below...

