Quest for Happiness: Week Two

qfh

Let’s jump right into it, shall we?

Fitness:

  • Long-term Goal: Shape the body I want and become healthier.
  • Last Week’s Goal: Go to the gym. Once.
    • Status: Success! I didn’t leave myself any room for error on this one. Tuesday was the first day I had time to go to the gym. When I got home, in-between jobs, I changed clothes, ate lunch and then headed straight there. By the time I walked in, it was too late to give into anxiety or fear what would happen once I arrived. And I surprised myself by actually loving it…and going two more days, making it three in a row for week one.
  • This Week’s Goal: Four days in a row!
    • Definitely doing babysteps. Eventually, I hope to be going five days a week, 45 minutes a day, and incorporating a healthier diet, counting calories (potentially), tracking water and mixing up my fitness routine. But for now, going one more day to the gym than I did last week is a good step forward.

Writing:

  • Long-term Goal: Edit three books, write four new books and query at least one.
  • Last Weeks Goal: Write three times a week on BLOOD PRICE and outline another novel.
    • Status: Partial Success! I did end up writing three times last week (twice for almost an hour when the goal was 30 minutes and once for only 10 minutes but that is better than nothing). And I got to the point where I’ll be doing more new writing and reworking than I will be editing previously written stuff, so I’m really stoked about that. Didn’t outline another novel. So guess what I’m doing this week?
  • This Week’s Goal: Write four times. Outline novel.

Reading:

  • Long-term Goal: Read 60 books.
  • Last Week’s Goal: Read every night before bed.
    • StatusSorta? I read four days last week, usually during meals and cranking out 60~ pages per session. Yet I never read before bed, because I was just too dang tired once I got off work. Plus, reading Lynch requires my devout attention, not sneaking in a few more pages with heavy eyes.
  • This Week’s Goal: Finish The Lies of Locke Lamora.

Blogging:

  • Long-term Goal: Increase output over all three blogs, i.e., post more consistently.
  • Last Week’s Goal: Try out new blogging schedule and see if it works.
    • Status: Partial Success! I do really like the new blogging schedule, but I missed it by one blog post for each blog. I think, as the routine grows, I’ll be able to keep it up, but it was a nice trial run week.
  • This Week’s Goal: Write three blog posts for each blog.

Financial:

  • Long-term Goal: Manage money with more awareness, start retirement fund and build savings.
  • Last Week’s Goal: Balance checkbook for the week.
    • StatusFailed. While I did manage to save receipts to track spending, I definitely didn’t write anything down and actually balance my checkbook. I could blame it on forgetting my pen at home and not having one in my purse, but…
  • This Week’s Goal: Actually balance checkbook. Talk to manager at second job about keeping consistent hours.

For the first week, not a bad start! I really like the routine I got going, even though it has me going nonstop Monday through Friday, making it hard to squeeze in anything else. I loved that I was able to jump over some mental hurdles (making it the gym, writing words on the page again) and prove to myself that all of these goals–even the ones I fell short completing last week–are all very, very possible and achievable. It’s simply a quest to get there.

And I’m stoked to be adventuring.

Onward to Week Two!

Cheers.

About Nicole Evans

Nicole Evans is a writer of fantasy and science fiction. She is currently unpublished and is working fervently to get the “un” removed from that statement. She has five completed manuscripts: a trilogy about destined heroes that fail anyway, a science fiction standalone that pits the natural desire to love against the natural instinct to kill during the extinction of the human race and a new series about a writer who can't get published and gets the chance to live a life that all writers dream. She also has two scripts done. Currently, she is about to start writing the second of a nine book series while planning two more. (If you can tell, she really likes this whole writing thing.) Considering she has run out of space for putting rejections letters up on her wall, Nicole now uses her spare time doing the typical things that nerds do: blogging, dying repeatedly during video games (which she believes is retribution for the characters’ she’s killed), wishing she was the character she is currently reading about and trying to fight off the real world by living in her own head, with varying degrees of success. Nicole has a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Film and Media Studies, and works part-time as a supervisor in a library at the University of Kansas. View all posts by Nicole Evans

13 responses to “Quest for Happiness: Week Two

  • Morgan Hazelwood

    Wow! That’s a lot of goals to be working at simultaneously!

    Best of luck! Seems like you’re off to a great start. (p.s. Lies of Locke Lamora is AWESOME).

    • Nicole Evans

      It definitely is, but they are all elements I want to be working on and I couldn’t make myself pick and choose which one one to focus on, so I’m just trying to balance all of it. 😛 (I am so addicted to Lies of Locke Lamora right now).

  • philcharlesr

    Looks like you’re keeping the plates spinning well! Just remember to factor in the odd break (you could even add relaxation time as a goal each week).

  • lightafireinstead

    Looks like we both had mixed results! That’s the purpose of the short goals, though, right? Figure out what works and what needs tweaked, then try again. Celebrate the successes and learn from the “not or incomplete successes.” (Failure is too strong. :P) So glad you had such a successful week in some of the areas you were most focused on. 🙂 Here we go week 2! We got this. 😉

    • Nicole Evans

      I was actually short of relieved that I didn’t meet every goal I made for the first week, because I felt it I was successful across the board, there would be this pressure to maintain that success and then a greater disappointment when I slipped up. so I like that I’m already building an environment where trying is key and success and failure are equally celebrated. I’m about to go read your own update post now! ❤ Because you're right, WE GOT THIS.

  • justbmoreblog

    Glad to see you’re making progress. I was wondering if you could do me the kind favor of reading my blog every once and a while. It’s a different one-one just for writing whatever comes to mind: https://snartasticlyyours.wordpress.com
    I’d love to get your opinion on my writing and would love an ideas on how to make it better. Thanks girlie!

    • Nicole Evans

      I’m stoked, too. Read it every once and a while? Girl, I’ll read every new post you write! How did I miss that this blog existed!? I would have followed it ages ago. I can’t wait to read your writing and see every random thought or story that pops into your head!! 😀

      • justbmoreblog

        haha, thanks. Don’t worry about not knowing about it-it laid dormant for like 2 years! Needed something to get me to practice writing each night-after being inspired by this kick-ass blogger and her goals post 😉 (Looking at you there!)

      • Nicole Evans

        Dude, I’m seriously so stoked. I haven’t had a chance to check it out yet, but I’m going to and I can’t wait. ❤ And I love that my goal post inspired you. YES.

  • Olivia

    I had no idea you were reading The Lies of Locke Lamora! You HAVE to tell me what you think after you finish it, so I’ll be waiting at the end of the week for a full debrief 🙂 there’s some accountability for ya!

    You are right about Lynch though, his writing definitely needs full attention to get through and can be slow at times. But so worth it in the end, I can’t wait to hear your thoughts!

    • Nicole Evans

      Girl, I just started it last week. I’m only 250 pages in, but damn if I’m not enjoying the hell out of it. I cannot wait to nerd out with you about it!!! (Also, thanks for the accountability. :P)

Leave questions, comments or angry remarks below...

