Quest for Happiness: Week Six

fotorcreated2

Friends!

I can’t believe I’m already six weeks into this quest. In some ways, it feels like I started just yesterday and in many others, that this has been going on forever. Though progress is slow, I think I’m finally started to figure out a groove. And I’m really excited to continue embracing that groove and getting shit done.

Fitness:

  • Long-term Goal: Shape the body I want and become healthier.
  • Last Week’s Goal: Complete a full week of fitness program.
    • Status: Partial! I didn’t follow the fitness program, but I did work out twice (and incorporated the program a little bit into that workout) and ran three miles outside, which was pretty major.
  • This Week’s Goal: Run outside twice and go to the gym twice.

Writing:

  • Long-term Goal: Edit three books, write four new books and query at least one.
  • Last Weeks Goal: Write four times. Outline novel. Read beta feedback and make editing game plan for Artemis’s story.
    • Status: Nada. Writing has definitely been the hardest thing to fit into this crazy schedule that I have. Which I hate, because writing is the most important thing to me. I also think that I’m trying to incorporate too many writing goals into one week, especially with my time crunch. And my weekends have been swamped, which is when I want to get the most done. So let’s take it back a bit and figure out how I can fit writing in and how much before tackling multiple things at once.
  • This Week’s Goal: Read beta feedback and make editing game plan for Artemis. Edit short story.

Reading:

  • Long-term Goal: Read 60 books.
  • Last Week’s Goal: Finish The Lies of Locke Lamora and write review.
    • StatusPractically a success. I FINISHED LOCKE LAMORA. I didn’t write the review, but that’s happening after I finished this post, which is why it is practically a success. And such a bloody good book, to boot.
  • This Week’s Goal: Read every other day, at least.

Blogging:

  • Long-term Goal: Increase output over all three blogs, i.e., post more consistently.
  • Last Week’s Goal: Write once on each blog.
    • Status: Success! I did manage to write a post for each blog this week and I didn’t even realize I completed this goal. *fistpump*
  • This Week’s Goal: Catch up reading on blogs.

Financial:

  • Long-term Goal: Manage money with more awareness, start retirement fund and build savings.
  • Last Week’s Goal: Find a budgeting/financial app that is useful.
    • Status: NadaI didn’t even try this. So reattempt this week!!
  • This Week’s Goal: Find a budgeting/financial app that is useful.

*continues chugging forward, even if the pace is slow and the victories small (hint: they still count)*

Cheers!

About Nicole Evans

Nicole Evans is a writer of fantasy and science fiction. She is currently unpublished and is working fervently to get the “un” removed from that statement. She has five completed manuscripts: a trilogy about destined heroes that fail anyway, a science fiction standalone that pits the natural desire to love against the natural instinct to kill during the extinction of the human race and a new series about a writer who can't get published and gets the chance to live a life that all writers dream. She also has two scripts done. Currently, she is about to start writing the second of a nine book series while planning two more. (If you can tell, she really likes this whole writing thing.) Considering she has run out of space for putting rejections letters up on her wall, Nicole now uses her spare time doing the typical things that nerds do: blogging, dying repeatedly during video games (which she believes is retribution for the characters’ she’s killed), wishing she was the character she is currently reading about and trying to fight off the real world by living in her own head, with varying degrees of success. Nicole has a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Film and Media Studies, and works part-time as a supervisor in a library at the University of Kansas. View all posts by Nicole Evans

2 responses to “Quest for Happiness: Week Six

  • Olivia

    Nicole – Someone may have already suggested this, but have you ever used the budget app Mint? It links to your bank accounts and already pulls in transactions as they happen, so you just have to set budget parameters and watch your spending through the app. I’ve tried out a few budgeting apps myself, happy to share my failures and successes 🙂

    • Nicole Evans

      My friend Sammi actually just suggested it to me. I just downloaded it, but still need to mess around and figure out how to use it. But with both of your recommendations, I can’t see any way this app wouldn’t be fantastic.

Leave questions, comments or angry remarks below...

