Blogger Recognition Award

I received a sweet and heartwarming nomination from the lovely, inspiring and talented AZ Pascoe, whose post is filled with some really fantastic advice that I recommend you check out. This award is really neat and I really like how it is different from the tell-us-about-yourself type of awards (that I’m also addicted to and love, don’t get me wrong). But I found this to be refreshing and really fun, so let’s hop right to it.

The award rules:

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  • Write a post to show your award.
  • Give brief story of how your blog started.
  • Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
  • Select 15 other victims bloggers you want to give this award to.
  • Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them and provide the link to the post you created.

The Story:

I can’t even tell you how long ago I started this blog. I think it is around the four or five year range, in July…ish. Though I really should only count two or three years, because that’s what I started actually blogging more than once every six months. Quite disappointingly, I can’t even tell you why. I have no memories of what inspired me to start a blog. I do know what it’s become, though: a limitless journal that anyone can access. My outlet. Nothing is forbidden, here. Writing is obviously my main content. But sometimes, I just need to vent about my (non-existent) love life. Or I need to rant about why it sucks to have a period. Or write a review over a videogame I really loved. Or use this as a letter to say things I want to say to someone but don’t know how to confront them in person.  I write it to process, rant or rave, but I share it in hopes to connect, inspire or challenge. Though I have no recollection of why this blog began, I have a very clear idea of why it still exists and how it is definitely going to continue existing in the future.

The Advice:

If you’re a new blogger, first off, I want a link to your blog. I want to follow it. I want to help encourage you to keep posting. Hit me up in the comments below.

Now, if you’re a new blogger and are looking for advice on how to run a blog, how to obtain a readership, how to write awesome posts or how to write on a consistent basis, well…you may want to read the responses from the victims I tag below. I bet they are better equipped. Because for me, personally? I wing it and I stay selfish.

So I guess that is my first piece of advice: stay selfish. Write the blog that you want to have. If it is themed and really easy to find a target audience, awesome. If it is completely random and makes no sense half the time like mine, Weird Humans Unite (we meet on Tuesdays in the break room at 5)! Either way, keep writing. But keep writing what you want to write. There is no better way to stay true to yourself and be completely and authentically you than in your own blog. So write what you want. Post as often as you want. Be as serious or silly or sappy as you want. Don’t get bogged down by the number of likes, follows or comments. Don’t get discouraged if the world doesn’t respond the way you hoped–and definitely don’t change in order to increase statistics. Stay selfish.

Other piece of advice I’d give new bloggers? Take the time. Another vague phrase to throw out at you, but it’s flexible that way; it has a lot of meanings. Take the time to dedicate to your blog, but more than that, take the time to interact with the blogs and bloggers you enjoy. I’m not saying you need to create a rigid routine you must follow and feel like the worse human to ever exist on the planet if you stumble and miss a post (I’d actually recommend against that destructive approach). Or that you have to write three paragraph responses on every post you stumble upon and enjoy by someone you follow. But take the time to create the blog you want. Take the time to write the posts you want. Take the time to find other bloggers to encourage and inspire you; to cheer and support. Take the time to comment. Take the time to read another draft before hitting “publish” (cue embarrassing moment when you find a typo in this post). Take the time to do research. Take the time to add pictures or drawings or art. Take the time to spice things up. Take the time to do it right, whatever right looks like to you.

Bonus confession: I’m sure you could research the “hows” of blogging, but honestly? Like so many things, there is no “right” way to do things. Trust your gut. You’ll figure it out.

The Victims: 

I have a nice net of bloggers who I adore and really have to thank for being the cause of sticking with this blog so long (as I am still guilty from being too excited/concerned about statistics from time to time). And the amount of tags I’ve put them all through is a bit daunting. So, my victims this time are a group of new bloggers (or blogs that got revamped) who I’ve recently (re)discovered (which doesn’t mean their blog is new, just newish to me) and hope to get to know better as we continue our journeys and record them like the fantastic, 21st century archivists that we are (using our blogs, in case you didn’t catch that and suddenly became confused). Also, I didn’t reach the 15 requested for the award, but I got halfway there, so that’s gotta count for something, right? Check ’em out and give them a follow, yeah?

  1. Snartasticaly Yours, Liz
  2. Jo Writes Fantasy
  3. Morgan S. Hazelwood
  4. Melissa Caruso
  5. In Principio Erat Verbum
  6. Light A Fire Instead
  7. Gloria Chao
  8. Monachopsis

Thanks for reading, not only this post, but this entire blog in general. It really does mean the world.

Cheers.

About Nicole Evans

Nicole Evans is a writer of fantasy and science fiction. She is currently unpublished and is working fervently to get the “un” removed from that statement. She has five completed manuscripts: a trilogy about destined heroes that fail anyway, a science fiction standalone that pits the natural desire to love against the natural instinct to kill during the extinction of the human race and a new series about a writer who can't get published and gets the chance to live a life that all writers dream. She also has two scripts done. Currently, she is about to start writing the second of a nine book series while planning two more. (If you can tell, she really likes this whole writing thing.) Considering she has run out of space for putting rejections letters up on her wall, Nicole now uses her spare time doing the typical things that nerds do: blogging, dying repeatedly during video games (which she believes is retribution for the characters’ she’s killed), wishing she was the character she is currently reading about and trying to fight off the real world by living in her own head, with varying degrees of success. Nicole has a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Film and Media Studies, and works part-time as a supervisor in a library at the University of Kansas. View all posts by Nicole Evans

8 responses to “Blogger Recognition Award

Leave questions, comments or angry remarks below...

