Quest for Happiness: Week Nine

Interestingly enough, I didn’t think too much about my resolutions this week. Even today, when I was making my To-Do list for the week, I realized, “Oh, shit, I need to write my resolution post…I wonder how that went this week.” I’m not sure if that slip in awareness is necessarily a good thing or not. On one hand, my resolutions could be becoming habits and thus I don’t need to focus on them as much to accomplish them (and, looking below, I really didn’t do too shabby). On the other hand, I could just be lapsing and not paying as much attention as I should be. So hopefully I can find a better balance, this week!

Fitness:

  • Long-term Goal: Shape the body I want and become healthier.
  • Last Week’s Goal: Alternate running and going to the gym.
    • Status: Technically? I did manage to alternate going to the gym to do weights and running three miles outside, but I only did this alternation once, i.e., working out twice last week. My goal was to do it twice, even though I didn’t write that down specifically.
  • This Week’s Goal: Run twice and lift twice.

Writing:

  • Long-term Goal: Edit three books, write four new books and query at least one.
  • Last Weeks Goal: Make editing plan and timeline. Draft short story.
    • Status: Partial! Editing game plan has been made! The timeline has it to where I would be completely “done” with editing and ready to query by July, which I am very happy with. Didn’t write the short story, though.
  • This Week’s Goal: Research for edits. Change first chapter. Draft short story.

Reading:

  • Long-term Goal: Read 60 books.
  • Last Week’s Goal: Write review.
    • StatusSuccess! *woot woot*
  • This Week’s Goal: Read The Desert Spear.

Blogging:

  • Long-term Goal: Increase output over all three blogs, i.e., post more consistently.
  • Last Week’s Goal: Catch up on comments and posts I wanted to write last week.
    • Status: Success! I feel like this could be a reoccurring goal, however. I keep finding myself falling behind on actually reading blogs, which is really sad.
  •  This Week’s Goal: Write three times on personal blog.

Financial:

  • Long-term Goal: Manage money with more awareness, start retirement fund and build savings.
  • Last Week’s Goal: Input bills into app.
    • Status: Success! Finally got the bills inserted, which is really nice, so I can stop having those, “Is my gas bill due on the 8th or the 9th” panic attack moments.
  • This Week’s Goal: Adjust budget based on spending habits.

Cheers.

About Nicole Evans

Nicole Evans is a writer of fantasy and science fiction. She is currently unpublished and is working fervently to get the “un” removed from that statement. She has five completed manuscripts: a trilogy about destined heroes that fail anyway, a science fiction standalone that pits the natural desire to love against the natural instinct to kill during the extinction of the human race and a new series about a writer who can't get published and gets the chance to live a life that all writers dream. She also has two scripts done. Currently, she is about to start writing the second of a nine book series while planning two more. (If you can tell, she really likes this whole writing thing.) Considering she has run out of space for putting rejections letters up on her wall, Nicole now uses her spare time doing the typical things that nerds do: blogging, dying repeatedly during video games (which she believes is retribution for the characters’ she’s killed), wishing she was the character she is currently reading about and trying to fight off the real world by living in her own head, with varying degrees of success. Nicole has a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Film and Media Studies, and works part-time as a supervisor in a library at the University of Kansas. View all posts by Nicole Evans

9 responses to “Quest for Happiness: Week Nine

Leave questions, comments or angry remarks below...

