Quest for Happiness: Week Eleven (Plus, The Importance of Rest)

If you’ve been following this series of resolutions posts that occur every Sunday, you might realize that the last post was for Week Nine yet this week is Week Eleven. You might have also noticed that no post went up last week for Week Ten.

At first, a break in routine simply caused me to actually forget to write said post. I usually write these posts after I get caught up at work on Sunday evenings, but last week, since it was Spring Break, I didn’t have to work Sunday, so I spent time at home instead. It wasn’t until Monday that I thought offhandedly about which goal I wanted to focus on when I realized I hadn’t made any for that week and forgot to post. My plan was to write something and post it later that day, but obviously that didn’t happen. It wasn’t until Tuesday that I actually decided to not only not post anything, but also to take the entire week off.

So, Week Ten was a rest week.

I didn’t work out once. Didn’t write. Didn’t read. I spent a little too much money. I didn’t blog. I literally did nothing in any of the areas that are so important to my life; areas that I want to improve in. So what on Earth did I do?

I played video games. Mass Effect: Andromeda, to be exact. It came out last Tuesday, technically, though two friends and I went to Monday’s launch party. And since my schedule was different last week due to Spring Break, my evenings were free. Most of them, I played Andromeda for hours (yet not long enough, as the itch is strong and I just want to go back and play). Thursday, I went home and watched basketball with my family. Friday, I went to a friend’s house and spent the night, playing video games with her and her fiancé. Saturday, I went to a one day writing conference (which I’ll hopefully blog about later this week!) before helping with my brother’s birthday party and watching my team get knocked out of the Big Dance. And then I went to another friend’s house and spent the night before we got up this morning and met a friend to go shopping before work today.

Yeah, I was probably busier in the last week than I have been in while. Part of me is exhausted. Yet another part of me feels fantastic. I haven’t taken that much time for myself in…hell, a while. I haven’t unabashedly played video games in weeks. I didn’t feel guilty about choosing to take a nap instead of rushing from one goal to the next. I choose socialization over routine.

And I think that’s important.

Yes, I still desire to achieve my goals. And yes, I’m actually quite excited to get back on track this week and rededicate myself to getting things done. But I can’t work myself into the ground. I can’t be afraid to mess up every once in a while. I’m allowed to take a step back and just…relax, actually.

Honestly, I think I need to do a better job of incorporating relaxation into my goals. A friend of mine actually reached out a few weeks ago and asked me why relaxation wasn’t already a part of my plan. He pointed out: “you only have goals about productivity not about leisure.” It kind of blew my mind. Part of me wanted to resist trying to “add in” something else. How am I supposed to work in relaxation as well? I’m already overworked as it is! Yet I quickly realized that was why it was so important to add in relaxation and focus on it as much as I focus on all of my productive goals. I am overworked. I am feeling the hints and edges of burn out. And without actively working towards relaxing and taking time to take care of myself every week, I will burn out–which is more detrimental than any missed gym session or single failed writing attempt.

So, below are the goals for this week, with a new category added in. I’m excited to get back to it and continue working on finding balance, bettering myself and working towards creating–and choosing–my own happiness every single day.

Fitness:

  • Long-term Goal: Shape the body I want and become healthier.
  • This Week’s Goal: Run twice and lift twice.

Writing:

  • Long-term Goal: Edit three books, write four new books and query at least one.
  • This Week’s Goal: Research for edits. Edit short story.

Reading:

  • Long-term Goal: Read 60 books.
  • This Week’s Goal: Read every day.

Relaxation:

  • Long-term Goal: Create and maintain a mindset that taking care of yourself is just as important as everything else.
  • This Week’s Goal: Beat Eos in Andromeda.

Blogging:

  • Long-term Goal: Increase output over all three blogs, i.e., post more consistently.
  •  This Week’s Goal: Write three times on the personal blog.

Financial:

  • Long-term Goal: Manage money with more awareness, start retirement fund and build savings.
  • This Week’s Goal: Adjust budget based on spending habits.

Thanks, as always, for your support and your belief in me, friends. If I can ever support you and your goals in any fashion, please don’t hesitate to reach out! ❤

Cheers.

About Nicole Evans

Nicole Evans is a writer of fantasy and science fiction. She is currently unpublished and is working fervently to get the “un” removed from that statement. She has five completed manuscripts: a trilogy about destined heroes that fail anyway, a science fiction standalone that pits the natural desire to love against the natural instinct to kill during the extinction of the human race and a new series about a writer who can't get published and gets the chance to live a life that all writers dream. She also has two scripts done. Currently, she is about to start writing the second of a nine book series while planning two more. (If you can tell, she really likes this whole writing thing.) Considering she has run out of space for putting rejections letters up on her wall, Nicole now uses her spare time doing the typical things that nerds do: blogging, dying repeatedly during video games (which she believes is retribution for the characters’ she’s killed), wishing she was the character she is currently reading about and trying to fight off the real world by living in her own head, with varying degrees of success. Nicole has a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Film and Media Studies, and works part-time as a supervisor in a library at the University of Kansas. View all posts by Nicole Evans

Leave questions, comments or angry remarks below...

