Mystery Blogger Award!

I’ll start this out with a confession: I love doing these types of things. They are so much fun, so shout out to the lovely and fantastic Jess for the nomination (and my apologies for actually taking months to finally fill this out). Her blog ellDimensional is one I always ensure I don’t miss a post, so I definitely recommend checking it out.

The Mystery Blogger Award…

  • is an award for amazing bloggers with ingenious posts. Their blog not only captivates; it inspires and motivates. They are one of the best out there and they deserve every recognition they get.
  • is also for bloggers who find fun and inspiration in blogging and they do it with so much love and passion.
  • was created by Okoto Enigma.

mystery

Guidelines:

  • Display the award logo on your blog.
  • Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  • Mention the creator of the award and provide a link.
  • Tell your readers 3 things about yourself.
  • Answer 5 questions from the nominee.
  • Nominate 10 – 20 bloggers.
  • Notify your nominees by leaving a comment on their blog.
  • Ask your nominees 5 questions of your choice, including 1 weird or funny question.
  • Share the link to your best post.

Three Things:

  1. I truly believe dragons exist.
  2. I’ve been told that I look more Elfin than human…more than once.
  3. My favorite cheese is extra sharp cheddar.

Questions:

  1. Weird question: Are you afraid of the dark? I used to be, but I don’t think I am any more. Although my imagination definitely gets the best of me, at times, so I can certainly freak myself out.
  2. What is your favorite genre to write? Or, what genre do you wish you could write? I love to write fantasy (as if you couldn’t tell based on some of my facts above). I love the freedom of it, the limitless. Though I can read a contemporary novel every once in a while, I definitely prefer to exist in realms and realities that are impossible, otherwise–both reading and writing. 
  3. What are your thoughts on vampires? As in, do you find them corny, overdone, classic, entertaining, or something else? I like classic vampires. I think they should be grotesque, feared. In the trilogy I wrote, I tried to hearken back to the Stoker era, bringing back some of the darker elements that made me fascinated by them in the first place. The stigmas associated with them now do make me sad. 
  4. Your favorite movie, along with your favorite actor/actress. That’s a tough one…I can narrow it down to genre, maybe. Comedy: Snatch. Romance: Pride and Prejudice. Fantasy: LOTR. Animation: old school, Mulan, new school, How to Train Your Dragon or Zootopia. Or Anastasia, Quest for Camelot or Emperor’s New Groove. I told you that was a hard question. Favorite actor: Kit Harington. Actress: Liv Tyler. 
  5. The last book you read. The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch (translation: one of the best books I’ve ever read).

Nominees:

These are the bloggers that I never, ever, ever want to miss a post from. Ever. But I do…most of the time.

  1. All the Pieces: A fellow Muse and a lovely human being, Becky’s recent blog revival has made me so happy.
  2. Melissa Caruso: This debut author has a novel coming out in October that I am so stoked to purchase and read the hell out of. Until then, I’m stalking her blog and enjoying every post she writes.
  3. Light A Fire Instead: Marie is a dear friend and a wonderful person. I love the wide variety of content her blog provides.
  4. Robert F Nugent: Rob is an awesome writer who I admire the hell out of.
  5. Phil Charles R: This guy is a gem and a treasure. One of the best people I’ve been fortunate enough to stumble upon and discover on Twitter.
  6. AZ Pascoe: The only internet friend I’ve actually had the pleasure to meet in person (and I low-key brought my sister along so I wouldn’t get killed :P), this woman is a fantastic inspiration and role-model.
  7. The Writes of Passage: Another Muse, Joyce’s posts are always so vulnerable and real. I never fail to connect with her.
  8. Brown-Eyed Twenty Something: Amanda is a fantastic writer and friend. And we have way too much fun communicating only in Psych GIFs.
  9. Terrible Minds: I haven’t read Chuck’s books yet, but if I connect with them as easily as I do with every post he writes, then I’m still not 100% sure why they haven’t been skyrocketed to the top of my To-Read list. I need to fix that. Pronto.
  10. TeaPunk Noveling: Tanna is probably one of the first writers I discovered on Twitter and now we have a fantastic and amazing friendship. I simply adore this human.
  11. Sione Aeschliman: Most amazing connection I’ve made on Twitter, hands down. Met during a contest, became friends and colleagues, and now I cannot imagine what life would be like without this positive and inspiring presence in it.
  12. Awake Dragon: I adore Rebekkah. Words cannot express my adoration. She also has a book coming out soon. You should buy it and place it on the goat shrine you made in your closet just for her because she’s just that amazing and you’re just that weird read it.
  13. Snartasticly Yours: One of my actual, real-life friends! And this blog is always so real and spunky.
  14. Jo Writes Fantasy: Busy yet badass I think is the shortest way to describe how awesome Jo is.
  15. M.A. Crosbie: A Muse who is also a twin in many regards, I admire this woman on so many levels. Probably every level possible. And then some.

PS: Jess, the writer who tagged me in this post? Most definitely also on this list.

Their Questions:

  1. Favorite dragon of all time? I accept GIFs as an answer.
  2. What is your best advice concerning finding balance in life?
  3. Most underrated color and why?
  4. What’s the question you’ve always wished you were asked on one of these things? And what’s the answer?
  5. How do you create happiness for yourself? How would you encourage others to do so?
  6. Bonus: Cute puppy picture just for kicks?

Best Post Link:

I’m not sure if this was best post in my opinion or best post numbers wise, so I just went with one that I felt really resonated with me and, if people only read one post, I wouldn’t mind if it was this one: Measuring Worth, Recreating Mindsets and Dealing with Desire.

Thanks for reading, friends! Go check out all those kickass blogs! ❤

Cheers.

 

About Nicole Evans

Nicole Evans is a writer of fantasy and science fiction. She is currently unpublished and is working fervently to get the “un” removed from that statement. She has five completed manuscripts: a trilogy about destined heroes that fail anyway, a science fiction standalone that pits the natural desire to love against the natural instinct to kill during the extinction of the human race and a new series about a writer who can't get published and gets the chance to live a life that all writers dream. She also has two scripts done. Currently, she is about to start writing the second of a nine book series while planning two more. (If you can tell, she really likes this whole writing thing.) Considering she has run out of space for putting rejections letters up on her wall, Nicole now uses her spare time doing the typical things that nerds do: blogging, dying repeatedly during video games (which she believes is retribution for the characters’ she’s killed), wishing she was the character she is currently reading about and trying to fight off the real world by living in her own head, with varying degrees of success. Nicole has a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Film and Media Studies, and works part-time as a supervisor in a library at the University of Kansas. View all posts by Nicole Evans

3 responses to “Mystery Blogger Award!

Leave questions, comments or angry remarks below...

