The Versatile Blogger Award!

First and foremost, a shout out must go to Jess over at ellDimensional for the gracious tag and the lovely mention alongside it. I am not only a huge fan of her blog, but of her as a person. I am so lucky to have stumbled upon connecting with her within the wide and vast webs of the Internet and very thankful for her positivity, encouragement and friendship.

So why don’tcha go check out her fantastic blog and see what I’m talking about?

What is the Versatile Blogger Award?

Bloggers nominate other bloggers who they believe deserve recognition for their high quality standard of writing, uniqueness of content, passion and love displayed throughout the site and to top it off, amazing photos!

Rules of the Versatile Blogger Award:

Thank the blogger who nominated you and share their link.

Nominate up to 10 bloggers for the award and provide links to their blogs. Also, inform them about the nomination.

Reveal 7 facts about yourself that your readers may not know.

  1. I don’t like bacon.
  2. In the 7th grade, my Mom suggested that I start plucking my eyebrows, because they were starting to get out of control (and they most certainly were). But I thought that the plucking was too painful, so I tried to shave the areas that needed to be plucked with a razor while in the bathtub, looking at my reflecting in the faucet.

    Needless to say, I had to pencil in my eyebrows for a couple weeks, afterwards. And there are still a few spots where the hair will never grow back.

  3. I’ve written five books and I’m pretty dang proud of that fact, honestly.
  4. I’m pretty sure I love dogs more than I do humans.
  5. I wrote my undergraduate thesis over how we could read The Lord of the Rings, in comparison to Jackson’s cinematic adaptations, as a plea to protect our environment, before the numerous Shires we once had are all poisoned into the reflections of Mordor. My secondary reader said they never met anyone who knew Tolkien so in-depth so naturally. Probably the best compliment I’ve ever received.
  6. I have five tattoos and plan to get my sixth, which is centered around LOTR, this August.
  7. I’m the most shyly extroverted, socially-charged introvert you might know.
Image result for golden retriever puppies

Here’s a puppy. Because always.

So, confession time.

I love blogging. As aforementioned in numerous posts, I use this blog as an outlet, which is why my posts range from writing woes to self-love struggles to video game rants to random musings. And I’ve found a really great community of bloggers that I follow and read as regularly as my hectic life allows. Yet I haven’t done a very good job at finding more bloggers to follow, instead staying within my discovered and adored circle of favorites.

I’m reminded of this when I’m lucky enough to get nominated or tagged in fun awards, such as this one, which asks you to tag some of your favorite fellow bloggers, and I always end up tagging the same people; who, don’t get me wrong, are all fantastic and amazing and you should definitely follow. That never changes. But it does remind me that I need to go and find more amazing bloggers to be inspired by.

So if you’d like to do this, please, feel free. I apologize for not tagging anyone, but I feel like I need to expand from my original crew. Hopefully, if I get to do another award in the future, I’ll have some new faces to point you towards.

Until then, keep smiling and thanks for reading!

Cheers.

About Nicole Evans

Nicole Evans is a writer of fantasy and science fiction. She is currently unpublished and is working fervently to get the “un” removed from that statement. She has five completed manuscripts: a trilogy about destined heroes that fail anyway, a science fiction standalone that pits the natural desire to love against the natural instinct to kill during the extinction of the human race and a new series about a writer who can't get published and gets the chance to live a life that all writers dream. She also has two scripts done. Currently, she is about to start writing the second of a nine book series while planning two more. (If you can tell, she really likes this whole writing thing.) Considering she has run out of space for putting rejections letters up on her wall, Nicole now uses her spare time doing the typical things that nerds do: blogging, dying repeatedly during video games (which she believes is retribution for the characters’ she’s killed), wishing she was the character she is currently reading about and trying to fight off the real world by living in her own head, with varying degrees of success. Nicole has a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Film and Media Studies, and works part-time as a supervisor in a library at the University of Kansas. View all posts by Nicole Evans

2 responses to “The Versatile Blogger Award!

  • Jessica M

    You know what? I’m not crazy for bacon, either! Apparently, this is sacrilege..! If I have to eat it, it must be soft. Or so fried in grease that it’s like biting into a crunchy piece of oil.

    Five books, that’s fantastic!! You should definitely be proud! So many writers out there write and write but rarely get to “the end.” Even if the story sucks, I recommend every writer get to “the end” because it’s an important step for the writer’s subconscious. With every completed manuscript, our confidence grows. And that’s important.

    Didn’t know you have tats! What are they, and what sort of LOTR tattoo are you getting in two months?

    And #7: I can relate to this on so many levels. Are we just moody? I’ve been called a contradiction so many times but I wouldn’t know how to think otherwise! I suppose we occupy that weird grey area, as opposed to being b&w like other people. I don’t know?? But you described it perfectly!

    • Nicole Evans

      Really? I don’t think I know any other people who are not bacon fans. My brother, when he was younger, used to label me as “the sister who doesn’t like bacon.” It was a tad bit ridiculous, really.

      I will never forget reaching the end of that first book I wrote. I was literally shaking and crying as I wrote that line, I was so excited. Granted, it’s been almost a year since I wrote and finished a new book, but I’m still pretty excited about the books I have written. You’re right, though: that confidence growing is so important.

      Yes ma’am! Working on a sleeve for my left arm, at the moment. I have a monarch butterfly on my left shoulder, a vine-rose combo with the words “Omnia Vincit Amor” around my left ankle, a multi-colored sparrow with the initials “AKH” and the phrase “Carpe Diem” underneath it on my inner right foot, a feathered quill with the lyrics “God give me the strength to do what You created me to do” on my left bicep and, finally, a griffon on my left shoulder/arm that’s representative of the Grey Wardens from Dragon Age.

      *lets out breath*

      The LOTR one is still in the works, but I’m hoping to include the Nazgûl and the simbelmynë flowers with my favorite quote (“And though in all the land, love is now mingled with grief, it still grows, perhaps, the greater), plus the map symbol of Smaug and the one ring inscription.

      It’s going to be a pretty massive tattoo (I’m envisioning my entire forearm).

      Gosh, part of me is excited that you understand what that’s like, but it’s also hard to be so contradicting, sometimes.

Leave questions, comments or angry remarks below...

