Blogiversary!

I really love that WordPress gives me notifications when my blog has turned another year older, because quite frankly, I always forget that July 5th is it’s birthday.

Apparently, Thoughts Stained With Ink is now five years old.

Pretty neat, huh?

Like my actual birthday, I have no idea how to actually celebrate it.

I guess we could do some stats?

No. of Visitors:

  • 2012: 13
  • 2013: 565
  • 2014: 769
  • 2015: 500
  • 2016: 1,994

Views:

  • 2012: 314
  • 2013: 789
  • 2014: 1,043
  • 2015: 777
  • 2016: 3,754

No. of Posts:

  • 2012: 14
  • 2013: 20
  • 2014: 13
  • 2015: 24
  • 2016: 77

Just glancing through the stats, it’s crazy to look at how much this blog has grown (and how, unsurprisingly, the numbers increased as my level of commitment and output did). Sometimes, when looking at really successful or established blogs, I look at this one and feel a little inadequate, in comparison. Yet looking at my own growth is…kinda really awesome. Going from 13 visitors to almost 2,000 in five years? From 14 posts to almost 80? And that’s not even including the stats from this year, which looks to continue the trend of increasing in each category.

That’s pretty neat, friends.

When I don’t compare myself to other bloggers, I’m actually really proud of this blog. I really love being able to reach so many people from across the globe and have awesome conversations, heartfelt confessions and epic nerd-out sessions. I love using it as an outlet and being able to express myself through the written word (or GIFs, as some occasions demands). I think I’m most excited to see how this blog continues to expand and change as the years continue. Because I have no doubt, no matter how many times this blog gets put on the back-burner and my post frequency drops, that this blog will find a way to continue.

Now here’s where you come in.

In the comments below, I’d love to hear your feedback. Are there any topics or posts that you’ve particularly enjoyed? Anything you’d like to see more of? Any feedback on the layout of the blog, it’s accessibility or design? Any comments on the number of posts per week or month? Anything in general that you enjoy or any areas of improvement? Seriously, I’d love to know and appreciate the few minutes out of your day you’ve taken to tell me. Because the biggest reward of this blog in the interaction I have with you and though I do use it as my personal outlet (and always will), I’d love to be able to cater to the needs of my readers, as well.

Image result for blogiversary

Thanks for a fantastic five (and a half, technically) years, readers. Let’s see where the next five years lead us, shall we?

Cheers.

About Nicole Evans

Nicole Evans is a writer of fantasy and science fiction. She is currently unpublished and is working fervently to get the “un” removed from that statement. She has five completed manuscripts: a trilogy about destined heroes that fail anyway, a science fiction standalone that pits the natural desire to love against the natural instinct to kill during the extinction of the human race and a new series about a writer who can't get published and gets the chance to live a life that all writers dream. She also has two scripts done. Currently, she is about to start writing the second of a nine book series while planning two more. (If you can tell, she really likes this whole writing thing.) Considering she has run out of space for putting rejections letters up on her wall, Nicole now uses her spare time doing the typical things that nerds do: blogging, dying repeatedly during video games (which she believes is retribution for the characters’ she’s killed), wishing she was the character she is currently reading about and trying to fight off the real world by living in her own head, with varying degrees of success. Nicole has a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Film and Media Studies, and works part-time as a supervisor in a library at the University of Kansas. View all posts by Nicole Evans

7 responses to “Blogiversary!

  • Renard Moreau

    [ Smiles ] Happy Blogoversary to you, Nicole.

  • Jessica M

    Happy blogiversary! Look at those stats! I think you’re doing mighty well! As for any feedback, I love what you’re doing here. No complaints at all. I know, not the most helpful of comments, but there really isn’t anything lacking on your page! It’s simple, straightforward, and engaging. Just keep doing you! ❤

    • Nicole Evans

      JESS. Gosh darnit, you are too great for this world. I know, right? I’d actually never looked at my stats farther than checking the stats of the week, so that was a really cool increase to see! “Helpful” or not, your comment still meant the world. ❤

  • justbmoreblog

    Ah!!!! Happy 5th!! I’m forever grateful that we were smushed together as roomies for a weekend and then a month so I could discover you, your writing and this blog. As I constantly go back and forth between to write and not to write myself, I love coming to your blog to get inspired about everything from writing to just being a person. You rock!

    • Nicole Evans

      Thank you! Every July, when that notification pops up, I’m always surprised that another year has gone by. Seriously, Beth, I am so grateful that fate, chance, whathaveyou connected us and we’re still friends to this day. I’m so jazzed for our phone call at the end of the month. ❤

Leave questions, comments or angry remarks below...

