#PimpMyBio: Pitch Wars 2017

Welcome, friends.

I’m new to both the Pitch Wars community and to this awesome #PimpMyBio blog hop, but I’m really excited to be a part of both. If you want to learn more about Pitch Wars, read this. If you want to meet some other fantastic writers participating in the blog hop, click here.

If you want to continue learning about me and the book I’m entering into the contest, you came to the right post.

The Writer 

My name is Nicole and I’m an Elven scout who’s actually really horrible at her job because I have no sense of direction and no survival skills whatsoever I’m a 24 year old nerd who only gets more quirky with age.

 cartoons & comics sorry dreamworks how to train your dragon httyd GIF

As far as writing goes, I wrote my first story in the sixth grade, where all the characters were my classmates and we had to fight skeletons with glowing red eyes with buckets of daggers. Flying pigs were also somehow involved. Thankfully, my imagination hasn’t stopped, but now my stories actually have real plots and characters and conflicts. I have five completed manuscripts: a YA fantasy trilogy about a destined chosen one who fails anyway and an Adult sci-fi standalone that pits the natural desire to fight for love against the innate instinct to destroy during the extinction of the human race. My fifth book, the first in a multi-book series, I’m entering into Pitch Wars (read about Artemis’s adventure down below).

I also manage three blogs: the one you’re reading now, which is my personal blog. I post about anything ranging from the latest writing woe (or wonder) to my quest for self-love to my video game obsession to my attempts (but usually failures) at adulting. I also write book reviews that discuss the experience of reading a book rather than the book itself over at Erlebnisse. Finally, me and three other writers post short stories at Muse in Pocket, Pen in Hand, which is a fairly new venture we started this year.

In the writing community, I try and stay active on Twitter (@thought_stained), with various degrees of success (I do have some Luddite tendencies that make me and social media not always on the closest terms). I participated in both #P2P15 and #P2P16, the second time making it on an editor’s shortlist (woo!). Currently, I’m the contest assistant for #ShoreIndie, which is a contest for emerging Indie writers to win free editing on a manuscript and guidance through the journey of self-publishing. I also intern remotely for Naomi Davis at Inklings Literary Agency, whom I absolutely adore and wish I could intern for permanently.

 how to train your dragon httyd hiccup GIF

The Story

When your stories are plagued with tropes, sometimes, the only way to beat them is to live them.

Artemis Smith is the walking representation of the starving artist trope. He’s old, works at a miserable job and has no family of his own, with only his service dog and rejection letters to keep him company. He’s never realized that his novels mirror the same problem his life exhibits: Predictable. Routine. Overdone.

When he meets a strange, blue-haired man outside the library, Artemis believes he’s only a new source for character inspiration. But when the man reveals that he knows not only everything about Artemis’s life, but also everything he does wrong in his writing—and holds the power to fix it—Artemis immediately jumps at the opportunity to escape his mundane routine and chase his publishing dream. He did not realize how literal that escape would be.

Transported into a fairy tale world as Terrowin, Artemis becomes torn as he not only faces deadly creatures, complicated codes of chivalry and an opinionated squire, but also the tropes attached to them. To escape the fairy tale, he must survive—and conquer—both.  

ARTEMIS SMITH AND THE VIRTUOUS MARRIAGE QUEST is an Adult urban fantasy. The idea sparked at my own frustration writing plots too overdone and filled with tropes to make it in today’s market, and it became, through numerous drafts, rewrites and beta readers, my favorite story I’ve ever written. 

I can’t wait to share it with you.

The Goal

My goal entering into Pitch Wars 2017 is to catch the attention of a mentor with a similar vision as mine; a mentor who loves Artemis and Terrowin as much as I do, but also sees ways to challenge them and make them even more real. A mentor who believes in my story and believes in me, who isn’t afraid to push me, doesn’t hesitate to point out areas of improvement or praise, and who is willing to not only help elevate my story, but help prepare it (and me) for the eyes of the world.

As a mentee, I can promise an old-fashioned work ethic, positive and prompt communication, a willing, patient ear, relentless optimism and dragon GIFs. In a mentor-mentee relationship, I’m hoping to form a bond that goes well past November, where we can continue to encourage, support and inspire one another to not only achieve our dreams, but to enjoy every moment as we do so.**

 tv how to train your dragon GIF

The Juicy Stuff

  • I have a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in film.
  • I work as a circulation supervisor at a library at my alma mater.
  • I believe dragons exist.
  • I’m straight-edge.
  • I’m obsessed with Tolkien and his works.
  • I have five tattoos and have no plans on stopping.
  • Video games are my social life.
  • I have a wanderlust that no bank account could ever sate (and certainly not mine).
  • Dogs are the best thing the world has to offer (especially Golden Retrievers).
  • My favorite cheese is extra sharp cheddar.

So…yeah, I think that covers the basics. Thanks for checking out my bio. If you’re entering PitchWars, tell me about your story in the comments (I’m working my way through everyone’s bios, but it’s gonna take me a while). And please say hello on Twitter, especially throughout the contest. I can promise you puke-level positive tweets (think unicorns and rainbows level support), random GIFs, your typical awkwardness and epic nerd out sessions.

 cartoons & comics how to train your dragon GIF

Cheers.

**Quick note to potential future mentors: I will be out of the country August 25th through September 11th (yay wanderlust sating!), which I realize is right at the beginning of the editing round (I made these plans a year ago, not thinking about any awesome contests I’d want to enter later). If I get on your radar, I hope this is something we can discuss, as though internet access isn’t planned at the moment, I could make things work if chosen (but also, that work ethic I mentioned? Yeah, I’d work my ass off to ensure those two weeks, if editing wasn’t an option, felt like I was still working the whole time).

About Nicole Evans

Nicole Evans is a writer of fantasy and science fiction. She is currently unpublished and is working fervently to get the “un” removed from that statement. She has five completed manuscripts: a trilogy about destined heroes that fail anyway, a science fiction standalone that pits the natural desire to love against the natural instinct to kill during the extinction of the human race and a new series about a writer who can't get published and gets the chance to live a life that all writers dream. She also has two scripts done. Currently, she is about to start writing the second of a nine book series while planning two more. (If you can tell, she really likes this whole writing thing.) Considering she has run out of space for putting rejections letters up on her wall, Nicole now uses her spare time doing the typical things that nerds do: blogging, dying repeatedly during video games (which she believes is retribution for the characters’ she’s killed), wishing she was the character she is currently reading about and trying to fight off the real world by living in her own head, with varying degrees of success. Nicole has a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Film and Media Studies, and works part-time as a supervisor in a library at the University of Kansas. View all posts by Nicole Evans

17 responses to “#PimpMyBio: Pitch Wars 2017

  • sroffey

    Your story sounds so interesting! Can’t wait to read it some day!

  • Sonia G Medeiros

    Ooh, I’m eager to see how Artemis’s adventures turn out.

    I’m still working on my pitch. I find it the most frustrating part of writing.

    I shared the “Real Neat Blog Award” with you. You can see it here: https://doingthewritething.wordpress.com/2017/07/08/thats-just-neat/ . Of course, there’s no pressure to accept the award. 🙂

  • Jennifer Dyer

    What a fun blog and love all your story ideas! I know the world will be reading them soon on the shelves! Hope you enjoy your trip! Best of luck in Pitch Wars!!!!

    • Nicole Evans

      Jennifer, thank you so, so much! I’m going to need to reread your comment on the days when I’m feeling like that dream is impossible. Best of luck to you, as well, if you’re entering! 😀

  • mrscheiberwrites

    Best of luck Nicole!! Your MS sounds amazing!!

  • Dannielle Wicks

    WOW! ARTEMIS SMITH AND THE VIRTUOUS MARRIAGE QUEST sounds absolutely fantastic! It gives me the Jonathon Strange and Mr. Norrell vibes 🙂 Good luck submitting! I’m crossing my fingers for you!

  • lyndleloo

    Your MS sounds amazing! And I love sharp cheddar! 😍 Where are you travelling to? I’m off to Singapore and Thailand for ten days in the middle of September, I’m planning to have Internet at least half of that so I’m not too worried about deadlines, but I haven’t mentioned that to any potential mentors… Best of luck with Pitch Wars, I hope you get picked bcos I really want to read your story! 😄

    • Nicole Evans

      Thank you so much, Lyndsey! Isn’t sharp cheddar the best thing ever!? My Mom and I are going to England for two weeks (she’s never been abroad and I’ve been once and we’re both so totally jazzed). Singapore sounds amazing! I’m hopeful that being gone for two weeks isn’t too detrimental in the mentors eyes, but we’ll see. Good luck to you as well and thank you so, so much. 😀

      • lyndleloo

        Ooh you’re coming here? Whereabouts? Do you have family or friends here? I doubt it’ll matter as long as you manage to make deadlines, there’s two months to do edits and some MSs will need more work than others, hopefully yours won’t need a full rewrite or anything and you can just enjoy your trip! But we do have WiFi in most public places so you can always pop to a Starbucks for an hour or two here and there 😃

      • Nicole Evans

        London and Plymouth! I have a couple friends from college who live there we’re hoping to run into, but otherwise, we’re just doing two weeks of exploring. Do you have any tips of what you think we should see (especially if we love old architecture)? Also, is that an annoying question to ask a local? I apologize, if it is. Haha, that’s what I was thinking. What made you choose Singapore?

      • lyndleloo

        It’s not annoying at all, but I’m from the midlands and I’ve never been to Plymouth sadly, London is amazing and you can’t walk five minutes without stumbling across a beautiful building or monument. If you’re a Harry Potter fan the studio tour is a short drive outside London in Watford. I hope you have a wonderful time, you’ll have to post some photos on your blog 😀 My mum and stepdad booked a family holiday to the Singapore formula one lol, it includes a five night cruise (we’re addicted) and I’ve never been to that side of the world and always wanted to but my husband’s not bothered (he can’t make it bcos of work, he’s military) so I couldn’t say no when my mum called and asked if I fancied it. Sharing a cabin with my two 6 foot plus brothers will be challenging but worth it!

      • Nicole Evans

        We’re really excited. We’re trying to balance all of the typical touristy stuff, plus hoping to find some hidden gems. I have a friend who lives close to Plymouth and we’d like to be near the ocean for a little bit. My Mom really loves Harry Potter, so we may have to check out that studio tour in Watford. That sounds like an awesome adventure with your family! Good luck with that cabin arrangement, though. XD Let’s both post some awesome pictures when we return! 😀

Leave questions, comments or angry remarks below...

