Daily Archives: September 12, 2017

Quest for Happiness: Week Thirty Five

Now wait a second, you might be thinking. There’s something missing

You’d be right. If you follow this Resolutions Series regularly, you’ll have noticed that the last time I posted was on week Thirty Two. You might also remember that I went out of town and disappeared entirely from every avenue, including this blog. Hence why we’re suddenly at Week 35 (also, how is it September already??). It’s also the reason why all of the “Last Week’s Goals” portions are blank this time around, because honestly, I can’t remember whether I completed those goals or not.

Jetlag does that to you.

But now that I’m back, I’m eager and ready to get back into the swing of things, which most definitely includes both kicking ass and struggling to achieve these goals.

Fitness:

  • Long-term Goal: Shape the body I want and become healthier.
  • Last Week’s Goal: N/A.
    • Status: So while on vacation and eating out for every meal for two weeks, I was prepared to gain back some weight and have some work to do when I got home. Luckily, London involves a lot of walking, so even though I was the ultimate pastry taster, I still managed to lose a pound over those two weeks and am right on track to keep up my fitness goals. Now to get back into the working out routine.
  • This Week’s Goal: Workout 4x, log food, meet target calorie count and look up some different exercises to start toning the muscles.

Writing:

  • Long-term Goal: Edit all previously written works. Query one.
  • Last Week’s Goal: N/A.
    • Status: Obviously didn’t do any writing, but I did think about the novel I want to rewrite a lot while I was gone. Now that summer is over and I’ve gone on vacation, my schedule should be pretty regular for the rest of the year. Which means my writing should be, too.
  • This Week’s Goal: Recreating writing routine and start drafting outline for the new RESISTANCE rework.

Reading:

  • Long-term Goal: Read 60 books.
  • Last Week’s Goal: N/A.
    • Status: I did have a streak there for a while of reading much more consistently than I have been of late, even before I went out of town. I’d read during meals and during lulls, even if it was only 10 minutes here and there. Which would add up and let me read a lot more books than I am now. I miss that. So I hope to get back into the routine of reading more often.
  • This Week’s Goal: Finish Red Seas Under Red Skies.

Relaxation:

  • Long-term Goal: Create and maintain a mindset that taking care of yourself is just as important as everything else.
  • Last Week’s Goal: N/A.
    • Status: Now that I’m in the mood to hunker down on my workout and writing goals, I also have to remember to fit in some time to relax, which for me, mainly comes in the form of video games. And considering Destiny 2 came out while I was abroad and all my friends are way ahead of me in levels, I have some catching up to do.
  • This Week’s Goal: Reach Level 15 with my Awoken Hunter.

Blogging:

  • Long-term Goal: Increase output over all three blogs, i.e., post more consistently.
  • Last Week’s Goal: N/A.
    • Status: I definitely missed reading blogs and writing my own. I hope to keep up some of the productivity I had on my better weeks over the summer as the semester gets underway, as well as increasing my interaction with the community.
  • This Week’s Goal: Catch up on all the awesome posts I missed, plus perhaps write a few of my own.  

Financial:

  • Long-term Goal: Manage money with more awareness, start retirement fund and build savings.
  • Last Week’s Goal: N/A.
    • Status: After spending so much money on vacation, I’m ready to get back into the frugal mindset–especially because I also want to finish my sleeve by the end of the year and that’s a bit pricey. Time to go back to the drawing board and figure out a game plan.
  • This Week’s Goal: Recalculate budget and get back to being frugal.  

Time to chase after goals and achieve dreams. It’s good to be back, friends.

Cheers.

